help exchange   Host 84666
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange helpx.net


Nr.Calne
All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 0 25
Persons: 2
Category: Other
Host ID: 84666
Country: England

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: April 18, 2018

INTRODUCTION:
Welcome to our friendly haven! Situated in a traditional English village with lovely countryside this holiday/study placement is suitable for male students 18 to 27yrs. Usual time spent with us is two to eight weeks.
The 1/2 acre charity garden comprises several different themed areas or 'rooms' each with varied collections of plants. It is registered on The National Gardens Scheme.
We like to have a relaxed, sympathetic and happy atmosphere. Your input and ideas will be appreciated.

The unique wildlife friendly garden is a Registered Charity which: has public open days; receives visiting groups; teaches horticulture & conservation; runs workshops, community projects, wildlife audits; and offer skill training for young unemployed.

We suggest a maximum 20 hours a week helping us out. All other time is your own for touristic, cultural, sporting activities.

TUITION: No previous experience Is necessary as full tuition/training given.

Large LIBRARY: on wildlife, conservation, art, history, horticulture, heritage, mythology, landscape design, etc.

SPORTS etc: Fully equipped Gym (twin weight stack/fixed weight, 3 seating position system + free weights etc) and a small Swimming Pool.
Good countryside for jogging (woods etc).
There is use of a bicycle.

SOCIALISING/LOCAL FACILITIES:
Young people from the village visit to use the pool and gym. There are various opportunities to socialise locally via organisations and activities. And contacts via the friendly village pubs! And walks & visits and actvities with your host.

Chippenham (8minutes away by bus) has 2 night clubs and also lots of pubs. Good range of shops

5 minutes walk away in the village there is: a shop & post-office; 2 traditional English pubs; church; golf club.

We like for each helper to arrive 2 or 3 days before his predecessor leaves. This helps with induction and socialising.

YOUR HOST STEPHEN: I was a professional painter/sculptor; art & history teacher; interior designer. Now I write & teach on wildlife, conservation, history. I have a passion for Nature and the rural landscape- and gardening! I am also an expert on English history/ heritage/customs etc so can be your guide during excursions.

PLACES TO VISIT NEARBY: There are so many interesting things to see not far away such as: Roman Bath Spa; Bristol; Malmesbury; Longleat House; Lacock Abbey; Salisbury Cathedral; Avebury Stone Circles; Bowood House & Gardens; Cotswold Water Park; the North Somerset coast & Weston-super-Mare seaside resort; Stonehenge; the Wye Valley; South Wales & its castles & the Black Mountains.

Nearest towns: Calne (1.8miles) & Chippenham (5miles). Nearest main railway station (direct line from London) is Chippenham (9 minutes away by bus). Bath is only 11 minutes by train.

HELP REQUIRED:
We would like some help please with any of the following:
1. General gardening (pruning/weeding/ planting etc)
2. Wildlife & conservation.
3. Improving animal habitats. (chickens, bees, etc)
4. Garden crafts/diy/decorating.
5. Helping improve the vegetable garden.
6. Being a Steward at public open days.
7. Help/tidying around house.
(8. Help also needed with web design if anyone is so inclined/skilled)
(9. Making a garden film/video)


YOUR ACCOMMODATION
Your accommodation is in a lovely traditional old English semi-detached rural house (built in 1885) set in 1/2 acre of garden within a small village.

Full Board MEALS: Vegetarian household (but cheese/milk/eggs are used). Wine and Beer is provided with the evening meal. Three meals a day of course. Plus tea/coffee breaks with biscuits throughout the day.

BEDROOM: Sleep on large sofa bed in the library/guest bedroom with privacy at night. (Or use the garden Studyhouse in the summer if preferred)

OTHER: There is a cat. Large fish pond in garden + aquarium in house.
No smoking in house or garden outbuildings. (smoking permitted in garden with care). There are horses in field at bottom of garden.

You are most welcome to join me in the very comfortable and well equipped sitting-room after the evening meal taken together to socialise and relax (see photo) with music, tv etc. (and plenty of opportunity to practice/improve your English language). And take part in village activities.

There is a very good collection of contemporary and classical music, blu-ray films, books, also freesat tv channels. Unlimited wifi/internet. 55" Tv.

Stereo with mp3 player in kitchen-dining room.

Nice big fully equipped summer/study house & additional library at bottom of garden.

THINGS TO SEE & DO
The #55 bus from Chippenham & Calne stops just outside the house every 20minures. At Chippenham you can get a bus to many other places; or use the main-line railway direct to: London, Bristol, Wales and all over England.

Many interesting walks and lovely English countryside with views of the Avon Vales and the Wessex Downs, & River Marden Valley on the doorstep.

The famous Bowood House & Gardens (and its acclaimed Golf Resort) is a short walk away.

Many historical and cultural sites. Football teams/contacts. Night clubs. Old English traditional events.

Locally there is also:
Fishing. Cycling. Jogging. Museums. Golf. Bmx bike & skatboarding park. Cycle track Chippenham to Calne along the old Marden railway. Football. Swimming. Friendly church. Walking groups. Pub quiz nights.

A mountain bike will be available for you to use any time.

If you have any particular hobbies/interests we will try to find connections/outlets for you. We aim to reply to all enquiries within 24 hours.

Back to Top helpx.net
Copyright 2001 - 2019, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use