help exchange   Host 84726
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange helpx.net


Co. Kerry
All Year: No
Area (ha): 0.5
Persons: 1-2
Category: Accommodation Business
Host ID: 84726
Country: Ireland

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: August 9, 2019

Hello,

My name is Lucy, I am a 24 year old Art and Architectural History graduate looking for one or two people to assist with projects, cleaning, painting, laundry, maintenance and gardening in my small guesthouse in Cahersiveen, Co. Kerry, on Ireland's famous Wild Atlantic Way. Please read all the information below before making contact with me!

My house was formerly home to the Christian Brothers and is now run as a guesthouse during the summer months. It is a large old Victorian house set within an acre of gardens. You will be required to work for four hours each day (in the morning time) and will be given a private bedroom. You may cook in the kitchen, and use all the communal spaces. I will provide breakfast, you can use the food at home for lunch and dinner is usually a joint effort but we can discuss your preferences!

The house is situated in the town behind a large wall. The town itself is a small historic town situated in a valley between two magnificent mountains above the mouth of the Fertha River where it meets the Atlantic Ocean. The town is filled with small cafes, old pubs, brilliant seafood restaurants and lots of craft shops and a few galleries. There is traditional Irish music played by locals in the pubs on the weekend and the finest Guinness in Ireland served in these beautiful old pubs.

If you have a car I will provide you with free parking however a car is not necessary. I will provide a bike also (I cycle everywhere).

There is so much to see and do in this area, lots of beautiful white beaches, many quiet spots for swimming. There are many mountains to climb and a number of walking routes through this rugged landscape. The area is by the sea and there is a ferry to Valentia Island which is beautiful to cycle around. You can also get a boat from a nearby village to the historic Skellig Rock! There are many good fishing spots and historic sites to visit such as Ballycarbery Castle, fairy forts, the old Trans Atlantic Cable and so much more! There are also lots of classes locally such as yoga, foraging workshops, soap making workshops, music classes etc.

I am very environmentally conscious and so am always looking for ways to cut down on waste and to put sustainable practices in place. I am a big reader and have a good library of books which youíre welcome to rummage through. I love a good chat and debate, am a big foodie (I actually come from a farm outside Dublin where my family produces food for my mumís farm to fork cafe).

I am 60 km from Killarney, a very famous tourist town and on the Ring of Kerry, the famous tourist route and the Skellig Ring.

I am looking for preferably two people with a good knowledge of English who will work hard for four hours a day. The work will depend on your skills but possible jobs include: cleaning bedrooms, bathroom, communal areas and doing laundry as well as cleaning the outside areas. General improvements and maintenance work such as painting, redecorating, gardening etc (this is an old house so there is always something to be done!) I need people who will be very clean and make sure all work is done to a very high standard as it is run as a Bed & Breakfast for paying guests. I would preferably like people for a minimum of two weeks but am flexible with the exact timing. I am looking for people roughly between August 22nd and September 30th.

Please don't hesitate to contact me with any questions you may have!

Back to Top helpx.net
Copyright © 2001 - 2019, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use