help exchange   Host 84820
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange helpx.net


Edmonds
All Year: No
Area (ha):
Persons: 3
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 84820
Region: West

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: May 31, 2019

Welcome travelers! We are interested in hosting one person, a couple or small family (3 People Max). Short term stays work best for us. We are available to host helpers for cultural exchange and help with our daily lives for up to 2 weeks during JULY 6 through JULY 25, 2019, which is truly the best time to visit the Pacific Northwest. Also, our guests would be welcome to join us on a camping trip in the Cascade Mountains (July 7-10).

We are a family of three (+ loving cat) living in the residential area of Edmonds, Washington (north of Seattle). We enjoy opening our small home to meet new people, learn about other cultures and build friendships. We live within walking distance of downtown Edmonds which has vibrant shops, eateries, movie-theater, museum, farmers market, parks, and beaches. During the summer months, Edmonds and the surrounding areas have festivals, outdoor concerts, performances, and movies. Edmonds is situated on the waterfront with beautiful views of the Olympic Mountains just 17 miles north of Seattle. The public bus can be taken directly to downtown Seattle in am and pm. The bus stop is just a couple blocks away from our home.

Your Accommodations:
*Private Room inside the house with double bed (accommodates up to 3 people)
*Extra cot or folding mat can be provided for third person
*Bedding provided
*1 shared bathroom (family also uses)
*2 bikes are available for use
*Work no more than 3-5 hours per day in exchange for breakfast and dinner (with access to food)
*Welcome to take a few days off to explore
*Wireless Internet
*Access to washer and dryer

We mostly want assistance in our daily lives. We would like individuals to wash dishes daily, load and unload dishwasher as needed, water garden daily, and meal preparation/cooking. We also have additional odd jobs around the house we would like some help with such as general upkeep, cleaning, painting, weeding, planting and minor house projects. If joining us on our camping trip, then we will need help packing, unpacking, preparing food and setting up/ taking down the campsite. We are really excited about the connections we make with the people that come and stay with us and are happy to provide jobs based on a person skill set.

Our yard is fairly large, with the outdoor space it rarely feels cramped especially during the summer months. We also have a small vegetable and herb garden. If you like to cook, we love to try new things. Please bring your favorite recipes from home to share. We prefer a family feel to hosting and like having meals together.

About us- We have a 10 year-old daughter and a 21 year-old son, who is currently living independently. Our family is very creative and extremely passionate about the arts. We have an extensive library with an emphasis on art, animation, and cinema. My husband, Skot, primary draws, and creates digital paintings. He is also in the early stages of writing a graphic novel. My favorite medium is clay and Iím a member of the local pottery coop. I also love gardening, photography and Hatha yoga. We enjoy meeting people from around the world (itís like a trip without leaving home). Most weekdays my husband will be working but my daughter and I will be home on summer break. We would like helpers who are friendly, courteous, easy-going, self directed, intuitive and comfortable around kids.

We ask for at least one reference (please provide a name and contact info for someone who can vouch for your good character.) We are extra careful since we have a younger child at home. Please also provide a brief description and picture of yourself/partner/family and your interests/skills/strengths/passions and where you live. Also, let us know what dates you would like to stay in July (between 7/6 to 7/25).

We donít have a car that can be used by our guests but can offer rides locally. We do enjoy visiting tourist attractions with Helpers both locally and in Seattle.

Please, no smokers, heavy drinkers, drugs or pets. We eat meat but tend to focus on healthy eating. Ages 21 and older preferred. Our family is English speaking but we are happy to host people who donít speak English as their first language.

We look forward to hearing from you!

reviews (1)
Helper: Kozue Ono Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: Japan Date: January 18, 2019
They are so AMAZING!! I had stayed their house for one month. When I canít un... view complete review

Back to Top helpx.net
Copyright © 2001 - 2020, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use