help exchange   Host 84843
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange helpx.net


Eugene
All Year: Yes
Area (ha): .15
Persons: 2
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 84843
Region: West

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: April 7, 2019

Note: please read entire listing before inquiring. My place isn't for everyone.

INTERMITTENTLY AVAILABLE: Traveling much of the time, but check in if you are going to be in Eugene. My schedule is sporadic!

I enjoy hosting mature-minded travelers of all ages. Though I'm fairly new to HelpX, I've been on Couchsurfing and BeWelcome for several years and have reviews there. I've also traveled using home-stay sites and love the opportunity to meet interesting, well-traveled people and see how they live and what they most value about their home towns.

Whenever possible, I enjoy working side-by-side with people on miscellaneous projects, whether at my home, or theirs, or in the community. It's actually my favorite way to get to know people! So while you're here you won't be doing anything I'm unwilling to do, and if you have skills I don't have, I'll be asking you to slow down just a little so I can learn something. I love learning how things work and how to make things.

I often have several projects going on & can use help with gardening, tidying/organizing & miscellaneous home improvement (or just "quality of life improvement, like cleaning & clearing!) projects. So if you stay with me you won't likely be doing the same kind of work every day. My large suburban lot has been pesticide/artificial fertilizer free for over 10 years; however I do not have a garden at this time.

This Spring or Summer (2019), I'd love to host someone with experience repairing irrigation systems.

I'm active in a number of local non- profits (spiritual, social and the arts) as well as exploring Oregon (hiking, camping, leisurely kayaking & cultural events) & enjoy introducing visitors to these activities if they are interested.

WHAT YOU NEED TO KNOW

This is a private home. Not a dorm. Not a bunkhouse. Not a hostel. I have a housemate who is cool with having guests and I want to keep it that way by ensuring that hosting doesn't disrupt our home. Bathroom and kitchen etiquette are important. My parents taught me that, as a guest in other people's homes I should respect and adapt to their ways as much as possible, treat their property with care, clean up after myself and ask questions when I was uncertain. I ask the same of my guests.

!'m extremely sensitive to odors and tobacco smoke gives me a headache. No smoking of ANY KIND is permitted on the property and I do not host people who smoke cigarettes (on or off site). No hard drug use (on or off site) is tolerated. I don't mind if you use edibles (marijuana), as long as I don't have to smell it.

My home is a quiet place (because I'm also very sensitive to noise). Please plan to use ear buds when you're enjoying your solo time with music or videos. Naturally, though, I'd love to learn about the music and movies you like if we're hanging out together.

I have two cats. One long-hair. They are very friendly! If you are allergic, this is not the right place for you.

I buy organic when I can, but most of my food isn't organic. I cook meat and use dairy, eggs, soy and regular baking products (when I'm not on a keto regimen, which is often). If you have special dietary needs you'll need to be responsible for your own meals and we'll adjust the work hours accordingly.

I reduce my carbon footprint by keeping the heat fairly low, turning off lights and using only enough water and other resources to get a job done. I do not use air conditioning.

I can usually provide a guest with a private bedroom, but sometimes the living room or sun room are all that's available. You would be sharing my bathroom. My housemate has his own bathroom.

Back to Top helpx.net
Copyright 2001 - 2020, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use