help exchange   Host 84887
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange helpx.net


Eugene
All Year: Yes
Area (ha):
Persons: 1
Category: Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 84887
Region: West

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: April 25, 2018

My "farm" is my backyard garden. In it I grow medicinal herbs (Valerian, catnip, skullcap, comfrey, wood betony etc.), native plants (salal, oregon grape, osoberry etc.), berries (strawberries, blackberries, aronia berries etc.) and other fruit (grapes, apples, currants, quince etc.). It is located in southeast Eugene near the University of Oregon.

There is work to do both in the garden and in the house for I try to do all my home repair and maintenance myself. This year (2018) this mostly means painting both inside and outside.

If you are just wanting to stop by for an hour or two of weeding, harvesting, pruning and other simple tasks, I would be happy to make you lunch, share what I know about the medicinal plants I grow and how to make medicine from them and (in the fall and spring) offer you plants/herbal remedies to take with you.

If you are wanting to stay for a day or longer, please contact me so we can work out the details of your stay. In general, I can accommodate one person for one week of every month. Longer stays are possible however if you have a tent you can sleep in. As I have a busy work schedule, I do not provide meals for helpers (though I will certainly invite you to join me for a meal or two during your stay). As I am only providing a room and not "board", I therefore ask for only two hours of work a day.

I am looking for helpers who are interested in working with me as opposed to working for me. I do my best to set aside time every day for working together in the garden for those who stay with me and am delighted with the opportunity this gives me to both prioritize my garden and get more work done than I could on my own.

Back to Top helpx.net
Copyright 2001 - 2020, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use