help exchange   Host 84931
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange helpx.net


Castletownbere
All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 10
Persons: 2
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 84931
Country: Ireland

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: January 2, 2019

I am located in a beautiful area close to a stone beach and directly on the mountain. There are trails on the mountain with a beautiful lake if you enjoy hiking you might like this place. This location would suit people who love the outdoors and enjoy nature.

My house is located on 30acres of private land so there is plenty of space and privacy. I have a fire pit so volunteers are welcome to go have a beer and light the fire.

I give each volunteer a map of the area along with information regarding the interesting places to visit.

I have goats and donkeys so its absolutely necessary that visitors like donkeys / animals.

House is 15mins drive to the nearest town Castletownbere. The work hours are 5 hours per day over 5 days a week. 2 days off per week. This would be suited to either a couple or 2 friends so that you can work together. The famous Tibetan Meditation centre called Dzogchen Beara is about a 25min drive from my house. Pubs / cafes, shops and internet in the local library are 15mins drive so volunteers can enjoy evening entertainment such as music and poetry nights in our small town called Castletownbere.

Separate accommodation is provided in a Vintage caravan. There are 2 singles beds in caravan. It has an outdoor sink, gas stove for cooking and dining table and 2 chairs. There is no electricity in caravan. It is lit with solar lights, and battery powered fairy lights. Caravan portable toilet. Use of shower in the house. Please note during the summer months, the water on the mountain dries up so we have to conserve the water used for bathing. (Sorry no long showers during hot summers)

There is no public transport although hitching is easy. We are a small friendly rural area. I go into town working a few times a week so I can bring volunteers to town on their day off.

TYPE OF HELP REQUIRED
The most important thing I require help with is animal care. Sometimes I have to work away from home and I need somebody to check on the animals twice a day...especially the donkeys. Other duties include tidying up outside, getting wood ready for winter, planting trees and helping my builder with a building project.

The suggested stay is 1 week with the volunteer working 5days and then having the 2 days off so 7 days stay in total.
If the volunteers decided they really liked it here we could discuss a longer stay.

Particular skills required: people who love donkeys as the most important job here is checking the donkeys twice a day to make sure they are ok. One of the donkeys was rescued from a situation of severe neglect so I need to make sure his hooves are ok. Because of this I have a preference for anybody that has experience with equines. This placement would be suited to 2 friends or a couple (as I have to go out to work and I would be worried if somebody was alone and perhaps lonely).

I think this placement can offer a lot of great things to the right people. Fantastic outdoor walks in one of the most unspoilt landscapes in ireland.

Back to Top helpx.net
Copyright 2001 - 2019, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use