help exchange   Host 85013
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange helpx.net


Kembs - Richardshaeuser
All Year: MARCH - end of OCTOBER
Area (ha): 0.8
Persons: 3-4
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 85013
Country: France

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: August 31, 2019

I am working on a reconstruction of a wooden hut into a brick house reusing materials that other people would give to be recycled. The house is under construction condition and is a challenge that will last for several years.

If you are interested to come and help me with any kind of work please see my mobile no. and find me on WhatsApp for further questions about the circumstances.

Ideal helper is having experience in working on any work of construction or perfect if being a professional in building trade and knowing to work independently. Please note this is an unpaid volunteering position. There is also some other work like DIY in the garden or a lot of rearranging items (which I am selling on flee market to get my income).

My area is great to discover western Europe as it is located on three countries border of France, Germany, and Switzerland. Three countries, three dominating languages. German, French, and English (Basel is a seat of some big chemical companies who have the use of business English).

Unfortunately, accommodation and other living costs are very high in this area. As a traveling volunteer myself (languages education) I wanted to get help on my reconstruction from kind people forming a durable friendship but I also wanted to offer a place for people to be able to travel to this part of the world in the same time. So it is a "quid pro quo". You help me and you get to feel like home (just without the cleaning service of your mother..lol).

I am rebuilding my house for future community living of at least three different parties as I am without children and my last partner, with whom I started the project died of cancer. So I was left with many problems alone, without social security and without the mental support of my partner. The worst fact is that I can not do much alone.

Having a serious disability of muscle pains (Fibromyalgia)after using them and being disabled for regular work (chronical fatigue syndrome) and having proper income to pay professional to finish the renovation, I am dependent on kind helpers to continue and try doing my best to have step by step some work done.

Not having the budget for proper renovation I gather all kind materials in order to save buying new ones and that clutters pretty much my garden. So you won't be in a spa area if you visit me but the volunteers guest house and the equipment inside (videos, play station, games, books etc.) are more than you would find in a hostel and I am always happy to prepare some nice food once the day (breakfast are usually cereals or typical french breakfast with bread butter and marmalade).

If you are interested to come please get in touch and confirm the dates as I am a host on more than one volunteering platforms and might have other people miss coming in case you just don't pop up (or come and go after very short period seeing that there is real work to do).

I thank you very much for your interest in my volunteering demand and am very happy to give you all the further information you need about the stay and help with me.

I am a very extroverted and open person and respect all people for what they are. I speak mostly directly without a hidden agenda about what I think and what needs to be said and I appreciate transparent conversations from your side as well. I am agnostic, human right activist, sociologist and educational scientist not earning a lot of money with my knowledge but using it for volunteering work, as I can not do a lot physically.

YOUR HELP: Your help is appreciated but only if you really like to make some change in peoples lives and don't look to have a cheap stay and food.. as we both will be disappointed. So if you like to discover the area and you think you may be able to help me, please contact me...
I would need help on four full days (about 6.5 hours work) and on the other three, you could rest, explore the area, travel elsewhere and enjoy the life in a way you think suits best your personality.

So far, thanks for having taken the time to read all this and particular thanks for your interest to come over and help me as it would be indeed a great help. We can agree on time how long you stay after both, you and I find out if both of us feel comfortable with the helping situation. Please if you don't like to work at all better not to contact me.

Couples and friends are highly welcome but both/all will have to be willing to work for the stay (except professionals)
Families only with bigger children (as the construction materials are dangerous for smaller kids).

Thanks for reading and all the best to you
Maida

Back to Top helpx.net
Copyright 2001 - 2019, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use