help exchange   Host 85050
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange helpx.net


Portland
All Year: Yes
Area (ha):
Persons: 2
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 85050
Region: New England

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: August 16, 2018

Our home is located in Portland Maine. We are open to having one or to two individuals stay in our unique spare room while sightseeing in the area. We do have an inflatable mattress if your party is larger, but could only accommodate a larger party for two or three days. We are also open to parking a trailer or bus with hookups in our driveway.

We can supply linens and access to all facilities including laundry and a huge back yard with deck for sunbathing, and grill. The kitchen facilities and shower are available for guests to use.

We may offer you food when we cook and enjoy cooking meals with guests! You would also be welcome to borrow our bicycles during your stay.

If we have free time we don't mind showing you around town or any of the parks or beaches. We are pretty friendly but understand that some people like doing their own thing and respect whatever level of engagement you prefer socially.

We are located two blocks from Back Cove and a nice bike and running trail along the water and into the downtown area.

Our expectations are fairly basic. 3hours a day, unless you would like to consolidate your hours to one specific day during your stay. If you are interested in staying longer term we can discuss this after we have met.

Work is pretty simple; garden and yard maintenance, painting, cleaning and organizing. There are also some small carpentry projects such as mounting shelves and minor repairs around the house.

Nothing too major! Just the basic maintenance of running a home. Rob has recently developed some physical limitations and it's become a large job for just myself, so additional help has become greatly appreciated!

Also, we have two furry friends that live with us. A mini-poodle named Bernadette and a 40lb. Rescue named Sarsaparilla. They are both young and high energy, so you must like dogs!!!

There may be opportunities for house sitting in the summer months, depending on the timing and length of stay. During days we are away, work responsibilities would be narrowed down to, caring for the dogs, bringing in mail, and keeping a general eye on things. We are also open to discussing a stipend, if you are interested in doing any work beyond the listed expectations.

Back to Top helpx.net
Copyright 2001 - 2020, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use