help exchange   Host 85090
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange helpx.net


Valencia
All Year: No
Area (ha):
Persons: 1
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 85090
Country: Spain

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: May 5, 2018

Hi everyone, I need some help doing maintenance/repairs on the apartment I bought. It will mainly be painting/caulking on windows but if you have plumbing or electrical skills please contact me as well.

A bit about myself and the place; after a career on luxury yachts around the world I have finally settled down in Valencia. I have a flat here which is very well located in relation to the old town centre, Park Turia, the beach and the universities. It looks out over a small plaza with big trees which is teeming with pigeons, lorikeets and all kinds of birds at sunset. Subway station at 1 minute walking distance which connects directly to the airport, city and the beach. However, you can also just walk everywhere or use the city's public bike system. The beach, the infamous Cuidad de las Artes y Sciencias, the biggest aquarium in Europe, and a modern shopping mall (Aqua, Corte Ingles) are within 10-15 min. walking distance..not to mention Plaza de Cedro, the student going-out area, is also within strolling distance and the apartment is located in a serene and green area.

I left the Netherlands in 92 to "work" at an American summer camp and planned to travel around the world for a year without a set itinerary, however came back five years later. Hitching rides on sailboats across the Pacific took me a year. I lived and worked in New Zealand and Australia and became employed on luxury Motor Yachts in Singapore after hitching a ride on a catamaran from Darwin, Australia through Indonesia. I enjoyed this lifestyle so much that I continued in the industry and worked positions in all departments; Deck, Engine room and Interior. Recently I "retired" and after some searching found the best place to live for me; Valencia.

Concerning the things to be done here; I expect 4-5 hours of work a day for room and board. Weekend off of course. No pressure, we'll just see what works best. Just would like to get the windows sanded, caulked and painted. Hopefully some doors too. You will have a private bedroom, shared bathroom and access to fast wifi.I am pretty laid back and looking forward to exchange some stories. Saludos from sunny Valencia ))

Back to Top helpx.net
Copyright 2001 - 2019, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use