help exchange   Host 85375
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange helpx.net


Herce
All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 10
Persons: 1
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 85375
Country: France

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: June 4, 2018

We are a busy English family of three living in rural France. We love the outdoor life and have chickens, cats, two naughty Weimeraners, three ponies and two horses. The ideal person we are looking for would be a horse loving person with a good background in general equine care, also a good basic riding ability is needed as you would need to exercise 1 horse & two ponies and take care of their daily needs. They all are ridden by our 11 year old daughter who is in the competition circuit doing Jumping, Dressage and Hunter.
Our daughter attends riding lessons at local equestrian centres twice during the week, Saturdays is training at home in our sand arena and the competitions are most Sundays so you would need to go along to the competitions to help out with the usual chaos. We are happy to provide riding lessons to improve your ability from good to great which could also involve you riding in the competitions if you wish. O.K so that's the fun part !
Apart from household chores and the exercising of horses etc. we also need someone to help out with our online business. We own a fetish latex clothing company designing our own clothing range from workshops in London plus reselling other labels as well as shoes, boots etc. So we are looking for an open minded and mature minded person with a sense of humour to help out in the office. The help would involve just a few hours per week packaging and trips to the post office, we would not expect admin or computer skills just some simple direction and common sense.
We would also like help with usual household chores like cooking and cleaning as part of family living. We are not looking for a housekeeper just someone with enough foresight to muck in and not add to the work, essentially around 5-8 hours a week. The horse care and exercising would be around 12-15 hours a week and include Sundays. General assistance with our online business 8-10 hours a week. Things like school runs and homework etc. are done by us, so we are not looking for a large amount of child care either. With the weekends being busy you would of course have days off during the week and the use of a car or 4x4 to explore the area.
Although we have been living in France for 6 years we have only recently bought a large property that we are renovating into a 12 bed equestrian property with 16 acres of pasture, 40 x 20 outdoor arena, paddocks, stables and tack room. No help is needed with any part of the renovation work. The interior of the house still needs a lot of work but you will have your own newly refurbished loft room with ensuite bathroom. Saying this we would prefer someone who enjoys to be part of the family and not shut themselves away and also join us for meals. Our first language is English but our daughter speaks perfect French and we are good French speakers and have good French neighbours.
We are situated 6 km from a medium size town with all amenities like shops, supermarket, bars, restaurants, cinema, theatre and parks. Because of this you would need to hold a driving licence and be a competent driver of a large 4X4, some instruction can be given with this if such a vehicle is new to you. In short this is a great opportunity for a person who wants to either continue in the equine world or try it in a new country, things like internet and TV of course are all here but again we would prefer a person who is an outdoor type rather than shutting themselves in a room with a mobile.
We would like a forward thinking person who can arrange themselves without constant reminding and fit in to our family life which despite the work load is relaxed and informal, plus someone who would be willing to stay for at least 2 months with permanent position available.

Back to Top helpx.net
Copyright 2001 - 2019, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use