help exchange   Host 85696
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange helpx.net


Guelph
All Year: Yes
Area (ha):
Persons: 1
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 85696
Region: Ontario

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: May 28, 2018

Hello hello fellow travellers! I (Jon, 32) a helper turned host looking for someone to help my girlfriend (Heather, 24) and I out around the house with a few projects over the summer. MUST LOVE CATS... we have 3 and they will be in your face a lot!

We are looking for a female only as my girlfriend isnt comfortable with having a strange guy in the house. 19+ as we dont want to get in trouble sharing a beer or 6 and we would like to find someone for a minimum of 2 weeks but ideally a month or so if we get along. Would prefer a helper with fairly decent english skills so we can understand and chat easily but we are willing to help out with your english skills too.

We can host late July probably into late september (we`ll see how things go and how much work gets done) and the work would consist of painting the outside of the house, staining the deck, and some odd landscaping jobs such as making flagstone walkways and wooden retaining walls. I`d like to get roughly 20 hours of work a week in return for room and board, some to be done alongside myself or my girlfriend and other times on your own so it would be helpful to have someone who can just chill, listen to some music and paint a wall without too much instruction :-P

On to the good stuff for you! To start with we arent tyrants and we wont be squeezing the last ounce of sweat from your labours. As a helper myself I have had experiences where the work turned out to be a lot more than was stated and the benefits a lot less... We wont be doing that!

My home is located in the small safe city of Guelph Ontario. Its nothing too special but its nice and we live walking distance to the downtown area where there are a few dozen bars and many restaurants to check out. There are also some nice parks, one nearby where you can actually rent canoes or kayaks if you wish to paddle around the river.

On the weekends we are more than willing to take you on outings around southern ontario. Options include Niagara falls, downtown Toronto, Amusement park, paintballing, farmers market trips (we makes those almost weekly in the summer anyway), fresh water beaches and possibly a camping or cottage trip if we can manage it. We also host board games nights at our place so we hope to find someone(s) sociable and outgoing. We will cover all transportation costs for these things but you need to pay for anything else you would like to do such as tickets, restaurants etc. We will also pick you up and drop you off anywhere within a 2 hour drive (Toronto YYZ is about an hour away without traffic)

As for food around the house we will take you shopping so you can pick out whatever you`d like yourself (we pay). We tend to cook individually as I`m an omnivore and Heather is a vegetarian. You are more than welcome to tag along with our meals or make your own. Either way just help out with the dishes and we`re good!

The one noteable downside to our accomodations would be the sleeping arrangement. We dont have an extra bedroom so you would have to sleep on one of two couches in our living room. The living room isnt a high traffic area however as it isnt on the main floor and we rarely use it so it will still be a quiet and cool space (games nights aside!) and you will have a 50" TV and playstation4 at your disposal :-P

I`m not sure what else to include here, if you have any questions or suggestions please feel free to let me know!

PHOTOS TO COME SOON!




Back to Top helpx.net
Copyright 2001 - 2020, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use