help exchange   Host 85711
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange helpx.net


Cork
All Year: Yes
Area (ha): .3
Persons: 2
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 85711
Country: Ireland

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: October 30, 2019

October 2019 update: We have help until November 17 and would love to hear offers of help after that, especially for the first 2 weeks of December. Thanks!!

........

We are family of a violin maker father (Bertrand), arts manager mum (Nicki), three children of 3 and 5 and 6 months. We are a laidback and open-minded household with plenty of space and a nice little garden, 10 minutes walk from the heart Cork, Ireland`s greatest city, where there is a particularly strong music and food culture.

We are mostly looking for help with the day-to-day life of cooking (we love good food!), tidying and cleaning and helping with the children.

We have ticked off most of the items on our house maintenance to-do list thanks to two previous amazing HelpXers, but someone who is skilled with carpentry to make some nice work on small projects would be great. Also anyone who can sew and do some sewing projects and repairs for us. We have a sewing machine. Anyone with a flair for art or quality upcycling might also leave their mark.

We could really use good advice about how we can make our big house which is chilly in winter more comfortable in the cold months in a sustainable long term way and generally reduce energy consumption. Although we really admire permaculture type living the type of house we have and where we live has led us to a pretty suburban lifestyle. We compost, make kombucha and kefir and try hard not to waste resources, especially food, but aside from that could do with some overhauling / inspiring.

We are a bi-lingual household (Bertrand is French and speaks to the girls in French) so French speakers would be especially welcome.

Musicians are welcome - musical resources include a very underused double bass, electric piano and tenor ukelele if you are travelling without your instrument and in need of a fix. Nicki is a keen harmony singer and Bertrand a brilliant cello improvisor.

Our spare bedrooms each have a double bed so this might be an ideal opportunity a couple who would like to travel and work together. We only have one bathroom though (plus another toilet downstairs) so need people to be mindful of that in the mornings on work dats! Meals (we try to keep it interesting and varied with good quality ingredients) with the family included as well as wifi etc.

reviews (5)
Helper: Romain and Mathilde Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: France Date: November 2, 2019
For 3 weeks we have been sharing the daily life of Bertrand, Nicki, Minna (5)... view complete review

Helper: Olivia and Daniel Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: United Kingdom Date: August 11, 2019
We had a wonderful time staying with Nikki, Bertrand and family for just over... view complete review

Helper: Kara Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: United States Date: January 29, 2019
I absolutely loved staying with Nicki and Bertrand! They were such wonderful,... view complete review

Helper: Maya and Riley Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: United States Date: September 3, 2018
Nicki and Bertrand and their two daughters were fantastic hosts. We only had ... view complete review

Helper: Alexis Westwell Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: United States Date: August 30, 2018
Nicki and her family were very welcoming for the 2 weeks we stayed with them.... view complete review

Back to Top helpx.net
Copyright 2001 - 2019, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use