help exchange   Host 85768
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange helpx.net


Totnes
All Year: JULY-SEPTEMBER 2018
Area (ha):
Persons: 2-4
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 85768
Country: England

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: July 20, 2018

We are Amanda and Jonathan, we live in a beautiful rural location in South Devon, (4 miles from Totnes) in 2 adjacent old cottages. We are not far from Dartmoor or the sea.
We are both creative artist/designer makers and teachers in our respective areas. I work with wood, carpentry and construction and teach geometry of pattern making and ceramic tile making. Amanda is a textile artist/designer working with natural and hand dyed felt and is also a very keen and knowledgeable gardener.
We are pretty relaxed, friendly, helpful, generous, artistic people. We have four children who have all now left home, the last being Amoria who is 20 and still at university who might still be around during the holiday period. We have done helpx ourselves as have all of our children during their gap years. We think it is an amazing organisation.
We are looking for people who enjoy practical work and the sense of achievement it brings. What you do will definitely make a difference to us. The jobs will include carpentry/construction,shed maintenance,fencing, painting and gardening.
I want help with building a wooden studio/workshop in our garden next to and similar to the one shown, but with a difference! Experience would be useful but not essential as I will show you how to do everything. We also want help in the garden and some indoor painting and decorating if the weather is bad. You can learn a lot from us. We would prefer couples but that is not essential.
We would also like some assistance with meal preparation and cleaning up after meals. We eat a varied diet and will do our best to accommodate reasonable dietary requirements.
We will offer a bedroom in our house, a shared bathroom and full board in return for 4 hours of work a day, 5 days a week and your weekends will be free. Minimum stay will be 1 week. We are accepting people from July 2nd onwards.
As we are rural, if you have car insurance with the clause that covers you driving other people’s cars with their permission you may use one of our vehicles. If not there is a bus into Totnes twice a week or we will be able to give you a lift. We can pick you up from Totnes train station when you arrive.
Looking forward to hearing from you.
Jonathan and Amanda


Back to Top helpx.net
Copyright © 2001 - 2019, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use