help exchange   Host 8584
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

Co Antrim
All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 300 acres
Persons: 1 sometimes 2
Category: Non Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 8584
Country: Ireland (N)

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: July 25, 2017

Help required now to help some house work and some farm work. Our farm is in a very rural mountainous area, great for strong walkers, there is also the Glenariffe National forest Park beside us. There will be some gardening to do as well as keeping the grounds tidy and lots of weeding in the vegetable garden. There will be work helping to do fencing , painting, striming the grass and cut lawns with the lawn mower. We are a member of the Northern Ireland food certification chain. The welfare of our animals is of the utmost importance. The position would suit helpers wishing to gain knowledge of how we farm and how to run a B & B in this mountainous region of Ireland and to improve their english. We prefer longer stays but sometimes a short period may suit as well and please note GOOD BASIC English is required and must be able to prepared to write down instructions and follow them. Only non smokers need apply and we would need to know if you have a special dietary need or health problem or any recent injuries. You will be expected to work between 2 - 6 hours depending on the weather etc. There is a day off each week and if you wish you can save your time and have a few days away on the coast. Accommodation is in a 27 foot mobile home which we expect to be kept clean and tidy at all times. It is centrally heated with shower, tv etc and wifi. It is located 20 meters from the farm house . There are 2 separate bedrooms and a bed can also be put up in the lounge.We prefer you to bring your own laptop but due to our broadband being not too strong we ask that there is strictly no downloading of films etc, but emailing can be freely done. But if on Skype it will be limited to once a week. The broadband usage is limited. All food for meals is supplied but we do not provide biscuits and fizzy drinks, although we will supply diluting orange etc . The evening meal is a cooked meal and helpers will be required to help with the preparation eg peeling potatoes and setting table etc and washing and putting away the dishes.
You help yourself to breakfast and lunch. all protective clothing is supplied . if working with sheep waterproof overtrousers is required, we supply them and other clothes are available, As for the B&B there are 3 rooms which will be cleaned and sheets changed as guests depart, vacuuming and washing the floors. Cleaning the Ensures and keeping the Windows clean
We have 6 donkeys and at the moment we are training them for shows and one already is driving in a cart. Help would be appreciated with these animals and days out to the shows.

Please note that the farm is in a very rural setting 3 miles from the nearest village and beach, but we provide bicycles for our guests but if not in use can be used for your own leisure . If you like your own company then this is ideal . Cycling is at your own risk.
We would like someone who can think for themselves , to see things that need to be done and be able to take notes to improve their english. If you look up dieskirt farm on Facebook you will see more photos of the area

reviews (5)
Helper: Anna Overmoyer Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: United States Date: August 26, 2015
I stayed at Dieskirt Farm for 2 months during the spring. The area is absolu... view complete review

Helper: Thibault NIVERT Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: France, Metropolitan Date: July 28, 2015
I stayed 10 days in the Dieskirt Farm during the summer. It was really good t... view complete review

Helper: Joe Chou Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: Taiwan Date: September 23, 2013
Really amazing experience!! I learned a lot of knowledge and had so much fun... view complete review

Helper: Elisa Proh Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: Italy Date: September 3, 2011
I've been staying here for one and a half month, and this has been an enthusi... view complete review

Helper: Martin Guillot Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: France Date: February 6, 2011
I stayed for a term a bit shorter than what was planned, regretfully, because... view complete review

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2020, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use