help exchange   Host 85867
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange helpx.net


Teignmouth
All Year: Yes
Area (ha):
Persons: 2 together
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 85867
Country: England

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: July 12, 2019

About the town and area - things to do and see. (scroll down for headings on accommodation and other information)


We live on the so called `Jurassic Coast` about 50 meters from Back Beach in Teignmouth (pronounced Tin-mouth) a charming seaside town situated in Devon, arguably the most beautiful county in England. (Note: nearest city with small international airport: Exeter (approx 10 miles/ 16km). Teignmouth is a quintessential seaside English harbour town, with a little lighthouse, a pier, fishing boats bobbing in the bay as well as some big industrial ships in the small port. Its very scenic to sit on the Back Beach overlooking the Estuary towards the little town of Shaldon and up to Newton Abbot. We go to the quay a lot with a picnic tea or have a pint at the Ship Inn which is right on the water just paces from our door. The `town beach` which faces the sea is on the other side of the peninsula - 2 minutes walk away.

Just at the end of the town beach promenade there is a lovely park with a community walled garden, and a wildlife zone with some interesting trees including Sequoya, tree ferns, Gunnera and wildflower meadows with wonderful views across the mouth of the river to the `Ness`. Great for a picnic too.

Teignmouth is a thriving town, with festivals regularly throughout the year. It has a reputation for being very arty, there are lots of independent galleries and cafes as well as some very good charity shops! We live in the `Arts Quarter` right in the heart of town, The local community arts organisation TAAG and Voyage Art Gallery always have something going on and in some cases you may be able to join the activities. e.g Mosaic, stained glass day courses, life drawing, printmaking, pottery, sewing, lantern-making (for festival in October - google it) as well as things for the sculpture trail on the sea front.

There is a adventure dinosaur golf on the seafront, a tennis court ( free ) Table tennis (free). There are life drawing, portrait, quilting, sewing, pottery, printing, yoga, pilates, and Bollywood dancing classes.. some of which may be available to you, and most are run very close to our home. You can go bowling on the green, canoes for hire and jet skis and scuba diving classes, amongst others...

The pubs are great and numerous. This is classic English culture, friendly, real ales that they allow you to sample before you buy, regular live music.

The area is surrounded by designated Areas of Outstanding Natural Beauty and Dartmoor National Park. It's an artist`s dream and one of the most beautiful areas of moorland in the UK with huge granite stone outcrops (called Tors), lovely rivers and wild ponies. I think it is hard to find somewhere you could see such a variety of country within a few miles.

There`s so much to do here, and quite a bit of it free or low cost, including music and other arty events in the summer, coastal and moor walks, parks, train rides to the nearby historic University city of Exeter (clubs, bars and chic / retro shops and cafes) a short train ride away. You don`t need a car to see many of the things, and in Town you can walk to a lot of places that would interest a visitor. Exeter also has very decent museum, a historic port and ruined (Norman?) castle with an outstanding unique twin tower cathedral. From Teignmouth and nearby towns there are ferry rides to local seaside towns, steam trains in summer, there really is something for everyone.

Suggestions for Google images searches of the area:

Jurassic Coast Devon, The Ness Shaldon, Dawlish black swans. Dawlish Warren, Dartmoor, Exeter Cathedral, The Dart railway, Dartmouth, Brixham, Topsham, Cockwood, - all are close or on our doorstep.
Add `Teignmouth` to each the following searches: The Back Beach, The Ship Inn, TAAG (community arts), The Sculpture Trail, The Lantern Parade, Carnival, Folk Fesitval, Jazz Fesitval, Poetry Festival..
There are countless more...

Our home and what it needs

Samphire House, is grandmother of a house that needs some TLC (tender loving care). Her precise date of origin is unknown, but probably sometime in the 1700`s. We are looking for help to improve her general condition, from DIY, decorating, to building renovation and garden work (we have a small town garden, which needs to be redesigned). I also need help to keep on top of the cleaning whilst all current renovation the work is going on.

Helpx accommodation

Depending on the situation when you arrive you would most likely be accommodated in the attic bedroom, (pictured). It is a bright room under the eves with 4 windows, one facing the garden, the others facing the harbour, though there are only glimpses of it. It is spacious with a double bed. In the interest of transparency I will say that there are some low approaches to the room where you have to duck, but that is something that most people would get used to quickly, and the room itself has ample head room except right under the eves. Its a classic attic bedroom that most people find very pleasant and comfortable.

There are two bathrooms in the house and three toilets.

About us - food / routine / interests

We are a welcoming couple and love to show people around.

Danny is a fish eating veggie, and whilst I am not we like to eat together, so my diet generally follows his. I am gluten intolerant. We eat quite a bit of international cuisine including Thai food, curries, Mexican but will sometimes have something simple like baked potatoes. We try to eat not too late, usually by 7pm, and I would normally expect our helpx to eat with us.

I am at home pretty much all day unless I have an appointment, my partner, Danny, works is and out during the week.

In the evening we may take a stroll on the beach, have a drink in one of the typical local Devonshire pubs, some with lovely views. Danny sometimes plays one of his (many) guitars or Ukuleles or harmonica, which though he does not like to admit it, he is very good at! I`m often found tending my plants in the garden. I am cultivating a passion for clay sculpture and mosaic.


We have a small, friendly, exceptionally cute dog called `Pops` . You must be okay with dogs to stay with us, she won`t bother you if you don`t want her to, but she does have pretty much the run of the house. (Except our guest rooms)

What we need from a helpx and what we can offer:

We are looking for help with a variety of things e.g. cleaning , who ideally are also good DIY. Decorating skills an advantage.

We need a commitment of time of about 25 hours per week, usually five days a week, not necessarily Monday to Friday, with food provided. We want you to have a great time with us and will be happy to show you around sometimes and to make suggestions about things you can do yourself. Teignmouth is a very friendly town, if you are an open person you will meet people easily here.

Skills we are looking for are varied and you don`t have to be able to do all these things to visit, but some things are more urgent than others:

Good DIY experience / decorating .
Knowledge of renovation of old properties.
Gardening / garden design / plant knowledge.
General cleaning
IT / internet savvy - to help me with getting a small ebay selling business off the ground.

We hope to hear from you .

reviews (2)
Helper: Dan MacDonald Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: United States Date: July 11, 2019
I had such a spectacular stay with Glyn and Danny. Teignmouth is a really bea... view complete review

Helper: Fiona Murray Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: United Kingdom Date: July 7, 2018
Outstanding. Glyn and Danny, as first-time hosts on my arrival, are naturally... view complete review

Back to Top helpx.net
Copyright 2001 - 2019, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use