help exchange   Host 86061
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange helpx.net


Aulon
All Year: seasonal
Area (ha): .6
Persons: 2
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 86061
Country: France

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: October 17, 2019

Hi, we are Mike and Nancy, a Canadian couple, residing in France. About two years ago we moved to Aulon, a small village between Saint Gaudens and Aurignac in Haute Garonne. We found an unloved house, to make home and bare land to build gardens. The goal is to live as naturally as possible in a modern world with permaculture principles as our guide.

We are trying to achieve self-sustainability in the long run, and much work is to be done. So far we have the gardens and green house planted, for fresh veggies this summer. We have our first brood of baby chickens, offering plenty of free range eggs. The fruit trees are in bloom. The two pigs are doing ground work clearing land and our two cats, Tesla and Honcho are our best friends and do nothing but eat and sleep (Enjoying the good life). Nancy mostly does the gardens and could always use help. I do the renovations (with Nancy’s help), and there’s a lot to renovate!

We are looking for capable help in July to assist us with some plaster boarding and light construction, fencing, gardening etc. In August we are re-doing the ancient traditional clay tile roof. We need help moving and sorting the clay tiles and odd duties. Some carpentry or construction experience would be helpful. A good attitude and a willingness to learn is also most welcome. For safety, work on the roof will be done at a leisurely pace and we won’t work in the rain or if it’s too hot.

There’s never `nothing to do`, so we can usually accommodate most people to be able to fill a 4-5 hour working day. There are plenty of small projects for those not comfortable on the roof. Possible help with housework and cooking if a couple.

PLEASE NOTE: Some of the help required is physically demanding and you should therefore be fit and have suitable outdoor clothing, work shoes, gloves etc.

Languages spoken English, Dutch, French and a little Spanish.

Come and visit the Haute Garonne, with its breathtaking scenery, and some lovely sunshine at this time of year. Have look at Nancy’s blog for an idea what daily life is at our home

http://nancylamarche.wixsite.com/diyinfrance .

We look forward to meeting you, and sharing our lifestyle and home.


Back to Top helpx.net
Copyright © 2001 - 2019, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use