help exchange   Host 86079
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange helpx.net


Sheffield
All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 2.5
Persons: 1 or 2
Category: Non Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 86079
Country: England

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: November 7, 2019

Hi I am looking for a HelpX to start at the end of January. I have had some fabulous Helpx over the summer and am looking for someone now who can help me build fences and sheds so good DIYabilities would be great!

I own and run a schools hatching programme using eggs from my champion rare breed hens. The chicks come back to my 6 acre smallholding with fabulous views on the northern edge of Sheffield and the Peak District. I run this with my three children aged 20, 18 and 11. We also have rare breed sheep and goats, three horses, four dogs, two cats and two turkeys - so lots of interesting animals! You will need to love animals here!

VERY IMPORTANT:.....I would like someone who has initiative and can work from a list and be self motivated! I cannot always work with you on the smaller jobs once you have been shown them. Also someone who is used to animals and wishes to learn more about their husbandry.

I would like someone to do help out with daily jobs looking after the livestock. Also building fences and sheds, gardening, and on rainy day some decorating and restoration in our period 5 bedroom house that looks over the land. Also it would great if you could contribute to some household tasks like cleaning and possibly some cooking???!! We have lots of eggs!!!

We have buses (not many!) that go past the house so access to Sheffield, Leeds, Manchester, Barnsley are all possible. The closest train station is Penistone less than ten mins in the car away.

The room is a beautiful big double bedroom, that just been decorated, with a lovely view over the valley. There would be shared use of the two bathrooms. TV in room with Netflix etc and wifi

Exchange hours/meals would be by mutual agreement and can be very flexible. Usually expect 30 hours a week for all meals etc.

Available throughout the year, minimum period one month ideally so as to learn the animals routine.

No smoking in the house or the barns!

Ideally one person but possible for two.

reviews (2)
Helper: Taoqin Cui Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: China Date: November 7, 2019
I stayed nearly 4 months at Deb's place and it's one of the best times I spen... view complete review

View Hosts Reply to this Review  

Helper: Marianne Cousin Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: France Date: March 4, 2019
I had a very good time at Deb's place! Debs is very nice and funny. She woul... view complete review

Back to Top helpx.net
Copyright 2001 - 2019, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use