help exchange   Host 86152
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange helpx.net


Welcombe
All Year: No
Area (ha):
Persons: 2
Category: Accommodation Business
Host ID: 86152
Country: England

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: July 21, 2018

We are a small, eco-friendly glamping site on the border of Devon and Cornwall. We are situated in a lovely meadow on a farm with views over neighbouring fields and the sea in the distance.

In addition to the site we also have a little cafe, surf school, yoga classes, massage hut, pizza oven and yurt cinema that bring us income/fun/relaxation/delicious food/amazing coffee.

Situated on the North Devon coast we are a short car journey or (a slightly longer) cycle ride to some spectacular surfing beaches with dramatic cliffs and waterfalls.

The farm family includes Hannah who is a yoga instructor and master creator of cakes and Simon who is a sourdough baker and chef extraordinaire. They run the site with me, and have the smiliest six month year-old child and a little King Charles cavalier spaniel called Lola.

Andy and his wife Kat who own the site live next door and have a few animals including goats, pigs, chickens and ducks plus an Italian Spinoni called Gertie.

Glen and Sammy run Pacha Design Studio which is based on the farm and they make exquisite furniture and household items.

I am Charlie, a conservationist by trade, and I run the site and surf school. There is A LOT more to us than this obviously but we are all very friendly and can`t wait to have you come and stay.

We are looking for two people to stay for July and August (and possibly September), who will help out and benefit from all of the above. Accommodation will be basic - a bell tent in the sheltered garden of the little cottage where Hannah and Simon live. Two other volunteers will live in a little static caravan but they will split their time between the campsite and the farm.

We hope you will be happy to really help this site thrive, and projects will include developing a private kitchen and chill-out area for volunteers; gardening and developing the land to be more environmentally friendly as well as growing some fresh veg; cleaning the communal areas in the campsite; changing over the units for guests; and helping with the cafe, BBQ nights, pizza nights and surf school.

You will work 5-6 hours a day with two days off a week (not necessarily weekends). We will provide you with food so that you may cook for yourselves but we will often have communal meals (not to mention pizza nights and BBQs!). We are all vegetarian so the food will rarely contain meat unless requested by guests. However, it will be delicious and wherever possible organic, local, and/or seasonal.

If there is anything you are interested in or projects you want to undertake we are very flexible as long as the basics get done. Please feel to ask us anything. We look forward to hearing from you!

Back to Top helpx.net
Copyright 2001 - 2019, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use