help exchange   Host 8637
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 10
Persons: 1 - 6
Category: Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 8637
Country: France

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: February 25, 2019

Hurrah for Help-X! Although not many folks from help-x have come here yet. Country house with barn. Land of 24 acres; 2 unfenced fields and the rest wooded at the end of a country lane. The area is very beautiful and calm. There are fruit trees and lots of woods. Everything is run organically. I'm studying for my Permaculture Design Course so the outdoor work for Help-Xers is mostly digging a water slowing system, clearing, weeding, chopping, tree work etc. Planting, weeding, chop and drop. There is work indoors; carpentry, wood renovation at the moment on account of the depends.

As there is very little public transportation its a good idea for HelpXers to have their own transportation. It's ideal for a single person, 2 couples or, in summer, larger groups who come with tents. There is a self-contained studio for Help-Xers which has a double bed. The studio has English and French tv. The studio can have WiFi. Obviously, you must have your own laptop to access that. In addition, there is a dandy caravan for 2 very good friends with a cooker, fridge, toilet, shower and heater. Electricity, obviously.

There's an extensive library (English and French) with books on all the subjects we practice here. English is what we speak. I encourage people to learn French, plenty of learning materials for that, plus French TV.

Everything that happens here is determined by the season, my priorities and the weather, etc. Permaculture design is the big topic. Um, more brown than purple. Food for thought before you write me.

A number of different projects will be going on once a design is worked out. Outdoors outdoors spring 2019 is about clearing the way. Considering various design implications to make this place work better. The projects listed above are to attract people with some skills already established so we can exchange design ideas and get on with finishing a project.
Offered: bed, breakfast, lunch and dinner in exchange for 4 hours of work per day Monday through Friday. breakfast Croissant/toast, cereal, fruit and tea or coffee. Lunch is the big repast. Bread and soup for dinner. I provide the ingredients, you cook for yourself in the studio.Weekends: no work, bed, breakfast and dinner (see above) offered, helpers sort out their own lunch as they'll probably want to be out exploring the region.
Within 30km of my house there are lots of activities,in spring, summer and autumn, winter is very quiet. For example: hiking with donkeys, swimming or fishing in local lakes and rivers, canoeing or kayaking, interesting local architecture, a number of organic farms which produce bread, cheese, vegetables, meat, electricity-producing mills under construction, Aubusson with its tapestry and artists, theater (French, naturally), music and dance. Creuse is a department which is relatively unspoiled and has, therefore, a wealth of local flora and fauna. Limoges is an hour and a half away by car. If you have special interests email me and I'll try and get information for you to see if we can find what you want here or nearby and help you choose my place to stay.

English and some French spoken. It is easier for me to write in English.

If you write me please state what you are good at doing that might fit in with what I've written about above, your general fitness and that you understand about the lack of local transportation.

Accepting Help-Xers in 2018 and beyond, so do be in touch if you'd like to see a bit of this part of the world. After emailing we should speak on the phone before you decide to come so we can be as clear as possible with each other.

La Creuse car un departement agreable pour sa nature authentique et sa conviviality. On est une heure et demie de Limoges par voiture. Si vous avez des interests particuliers envoyez moi un mail afin de savoir si ca existe pres d'ici.
Maison de campagne avec grange: terrain de 10 hectares, 2 champs et le reste boise au bout d'une petite route. Les environs sont tres beaux, tranquilles. Il y a un poulailler, un potager et tout est biologique. On doit avoir son propre moyen de transport. Soyez bienvenus. C'est ideal pour un/e personne autonome tranquillity et rencontres conviviales. Ou un couple dito.
A moins de vingt ou trente kilometres‚ tres de chez moi, il y a beaucoup d activities, par exemple: Promenades avec des Ănes, nager ou pecher dans les lacs, canoing« ou kayak, architecture interessante, quelques fermes bio et leurs produits comme du pain, du fromage, des legumes, de la viande, plus les sites d eco construction et des micros centrales hydro-electrique en construction. Aubusson ville de tapisserie et des artisans: Musique, theatre, danse.
Anglais et fransais parles, mais c'est plus facile pour moi a ecrire en Anglaise.

reviews (2)
Helper: Abi and Joanna Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: United Kingdom Date: September 26, 2018
We spent just under two weeks at Susan's House. Creuse is an absolutely stunn... view complete review

Helper: Alexandra and David Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: United Kingdom Date: November 4, 2011
We stayed with Susan for 3 weeks in October/November 2011. Creuse is a very b... view complete review

Back to Top
Copyright © 2001 - 2020, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use