help exchange   Host 86377
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange helpx.net


Karise
All Year: dec-oct
Area (ha): 7
Persons: 1-4
Category: Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 86377
Country: Denmark

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: February 4, 2019

Hi everyone.
We are a smallholding organic farm with poultry and veg, situated at the countryside of Southcoast, Zealand and just 2 km. from trains to Copenhagen.

We are a couple running the organic farm - and icecream parlour i the summer.

This season we are reorganizing our livestock and focusing on build facilities for the coming breeds, with fencing, planting trees and preparing compost.

We have:
100 young broiler chickens,
30 egg laying hens,
2 cats, and 1 dog (small one).

We focus on small scale grass fed production, animal welfare, biodiversity, transparency in production and direct sale to customers. Production is all manual and done with very few machines.

The Work:
Classic farm tasks, mostly outside and can be hard and manual. Tasks will be varied and depending on weather, season and your qualifications. We work mostly together, but for some task you might be working alone.

Work is mainely Monday - Friday 9.00 - 15.00 Including tea and lunch breaks. Sometimes we swap a day for evening or a weekday with a weekend day

At the moment: Fences, Planting trees and forestry is on the agenda.

Play is after hours - I can teach some danish!

Living quarters:
Accommodation is simple –and situated in our guest wing. Is has common shower, fridge and a breakfast room. See Photos. We have single and double beds, good for a couple or 2 (or 3) friends. In the wing there might be other guests sleeping during your stay.

Note: We have no TV-set and poor but usable wifi in the common room.

Food: Breakfast is self service. We have a tea break and lunch together. We usually have dinner together 4 times per week during the weekdays (Monday-Thursday) One day a week we hope you’ll cook some of your own favorite meals. Friday-Sunday you have dinner on your own. We eat 80% organic and mostly vegetarian (helpers cannot expect to eat large amounts of meat every day). We can cater for vegetarians.

Cultural experiences:
Outside working hours, there are plenty of things to do. We live in a rural area with sights, museums, riding/biking/walking trails. We live 1.8 km from Tokkerup trainstation with trains to Køge, Roskilde, Næstved and Copenhagen. By bike you can reach the beach, harbor, shopping in local towns and we have bikes you can use.

The general tasks for season 2019 are:

Winter:forestry, jam-making and tools.

Early Season: (1.3-1.5)
• Dig and level the fence, building brushwood fences, planting willow, cutting trees, watering (manual), mucking out stables and breeding of chickens. Occasionally chopping firewood(machine).

High season: (1.5-20.9)
Planting, weeding, digging the soil, building brushwood fences, cast cement (opt), scythe mowing , raking hay, lawn mowing , watering (manual), picking herbs and harvest vegetables, fruits, nuts, etc. Mucking out stables and breeding of chickens.

Fall season: (22.9-9.11)
• Dig and level earth, building brushwood fences, scythe mowing, planting trees, moving trees, cut trees, watering (manual), mucking out stables and butcher chickens/geese (opt), maintenance of tools and wooden furniture.

We kindly ask all interested travelers to send us a message with your motivation for visiting our farm, and a description of your relevant skills and experience. Helpers with special interest in small scale organic farming, cooking, and/or serving customers are preferred.

We are looking forward to hearing from you!

Back to Top helpx.net
Copyright © 2001 - 2019, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use