help exchange   Host 86380
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange helpx.net


Courtenay
All Year: seasonal
Area (ha): 13
Persons: 1-2
Category: Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 86380
Region: Vancouver Island

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: March 24, 2020

**Temporarily suspending helper program on our farm***

We are looking for fun loving & able general farm help on our farm from April thru Oct.

We live on a peaceful property that is located just up the road from a beach and we are a 15 minute drive from town. We love to laugh and have a fun environment while growing food for our community.

We have a 26 acre farm with chickens, many dogs and a barn cat, plus a 2 acre organic market garden. Our property has a four acre forest with a creek that is perfect for lazy days in the shade, reading or just laying beneath a tree.

We are part of a farming cooperative with 3 other farms and amazing female farmers. We have two farmers on site as well as 2 staff members who come during the week. We attend the Farmers` Market weekly and connect often with other farmers in the community so there are lots of opportunities to meet other helpers and farmers as well as community members.

There are private accommodations in a 21 foot trailer equipped with bathroom and small kitchen. As well you will have access to the kitchen and bathroom (see below) in the farm office, which is steps from your accomodations. This way you have lots of places indoors to be, when you are not working.

We provide lunch and pantry provisions plus farm veg in season for breakfast and dinner. PLEASE NOTE: We eat meat and cannot accommodate special diets.

You have good access to internet here as well.

You would work 5 days a week/6 hours a day(there is lots of time for exploring) in exchange for food and accommodations. Tasks could include: weeding, harvesting, picking eggs, feeding chickens and general farm chores. We are most comfortable with two - three week stays but are open to more if things are working out. We can take folks until the end of October. We are open to couples as well as singles. Two friends traveling together could only be accommodated if willing to share a queen size bed.

We work in a team atmosphere.

The location is beautiful and peaceful, close to water, hiking and biking, campgrounds and lots of eagles soaring above. As well you are in biking distance to grocery/liquor stores, other beaches, hiking trails and horse boarding. There are buses that can bring you to town.

We are active in the community and look forward to meeting you. We are queer positive and enjoy working with a diversity of people.

If this sounds like a good fit for you, we look forward to hearing from you.

reviews (6)
Helper: Rachel and Luke Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: Canada Date: February 3, 2020
We spent 3 weeks at the farm this summer and had a great time! Mariette and B... view complete review

Helper: Sam and Ceridwen Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: United Kingdom Date: July 7, 2019
Whitaker Farm was our first HelpX experience and we feel very lucky to have f... view complete review

Helper: Louis and Mila Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: United Kingdom Date: July 3, 2019
We spent a wonderful two weeks at this organic farm on the sunshine coast of ... view complete review

View Hosts Reply to this Review  

Helper: Natalia von Woisky Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: Germany Date: October 14, 2018
I stayed at this farm for unfortunately just 10 days (my continuous flight wa... view complete review

Helper: Victoria Riquelme Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: Chile Date: October 10, 2018
I am very grateful to have arrived at the Whitaker farm, Mariett and Brian ar... view complete review

Helper: Lioba Richard Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: Germany Date: September 20, 2018
Amazing people, beautiful place to be, great time and a lot of fun! I had ... view complete review

Back to Top helpx.net
Copyright 2001 - 2020, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use