help exchange   Host 86381
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange helpx.net


nelson
All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 2.4
Persons: 1 or a couple
Category: Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 86381
Region: New England

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: February 29, 2020

Sleeping space in the house in the winter time.Tasks:garden mulching , building, yard work, some inside cleaning, painting.
I work often as the town librarian. So we are often out and you would have time on your own. You may make your schedule.
We have light carpentry projects in the works, which you may help on depending on where we are at with them. One is a chicken pen, a tiny house and the other is installing a composting toilet room.

We heat with wood. The common space is warm, usually between 65 and 70 degrees. There are 2 couches, an ample table, a counter with stools and a comfy chair, so lots of room to hang out and work. I do have a 9 pm quiet and close the common room time. Most of us are up at 6 to get going for the day.
My small rural solar homestead is in the beautiful Monadnock region of New Hampshire. I have an extensive garden of herbs, flowers and vegetables, chickens,and a wood lot. I do teas, tinctures, balms and cordials with the herbs and can and ferment the vegetables. I live a simple life. Greyhound bus will go from New York City or Boston to Keene, NH, where I can pick you up.

I have wood to stack, gardening, berry picking and pruning, small painting jobs, brush clearing and help with processing herbs and vegetables. Chickens and a guest dogs need easy care too. If anyone is handy would like to build more cold frames. I need 3 hours a day or 21 hours a week. You may make your own schedule. I do short stays of a few days , up to a month.

Learn about simple living, gardening, pruning, wood stacking, fermentation of kombucha and sauerkraut, making herbal concoctions. Learn about heating with wood. Experience berry pruning techniques and gardening skills. Live the simple life, quiet and peaceful.

The space is a private unfinished room at the the top of my barn , see picture, and an outhouse. A shower will be available around dinner time. The bed is double size. There is also a 16 foot round tent platform to set up your tent on. The food is mostly vegan and eggs. Dogs are welcome with the awareness that free range chickens are in the yard.

You will have to have your own transport, unless you want to hike, swim, and go to the library, which are all within walking distance. There is no public transportation. There can be a bike available. Contra dancing is within a mile. This area is about nature, music and community. I will ask if you want to join me in community events, which you may accept or decline.

Back to Top helpx.net
Copyright 2001 - 2020, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use