help exchange   Host 86387
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange helpx.net


Homer
All Year: Yes
Area (ha): .81
Persons: 1-2
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 86387
Region: Alaska

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: May 26, 2019

Helper positions currently filled for summer 2019.

We have a private room and office area for an individual or couple in our unique log home situated on a lovely lot surrounded by spruce and inviting to our local moose,Sand Hill cranes and occasional bears. Life-long Alaskan, Dan, and long-time Alaskan, Sallie, will share common areas of house with you including: bathroom, living room, kitchen, sun room, log sauna. No smoking or e-cigs inside. No misuse of alcohol or drugs (no illegal drugs) during stay. Must be comfortable with friendly indoor dog and cats.

Stay in exchange for 4 hours/day of help with any of the following: bucking and splitting wood, prepping trim and siding for painting/staining, tiling sun room and mud room floors, weather-related work (snow shoveling, etc.), basic yard work, basic household chores. No specific skills necessary, just a friendly, easy-going attitude with a willingness to jump in and help out.

Will have access to our camping and fishing gear, hiking and camping books/maps/advice; if weather is right trips out on bay fishing and/or sightseeing, etc. Located in close proximity to cross-country ski trails. Willing to coordinate trips to and from town, 5 miles away, via family vehicle. We love sharing AK and Homer is a great place to experience the beauty of Alaska`s mountains,water, and community.

Photos 1-6: Upstairs bedroom; baby moose in backyard; our open skiff docked across Kachemak Bay at 11 p.m. returning from a hike in July; our cat checking out a yearling moose; our dog on the front porch; the log sauna.

reviews (2)
Helper: Eva and Marco Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: Slovakia Date: June 28, 2019
Sallie and Dan are amazing, our two weeks with them flew too fast and we're s... view complete review

Helper: Ethan Pereira Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: United States Date: October 25, 2018
I had the pleasure of staying with Dan and Sallie for the 2018 summer/winter.... view complete review

Back to Top helpx.net
Copyright 2001 - 2020, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use