help exchange   Host 86420
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange helpx.net


Bath
All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 2.8
Persons: 1
Category: Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 86420
Country: England

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: June 29, 2018

Availability NOW, and we have a STRONG preference for medium/long-term Worker.

An amazing opportunity to live with an incredible and loving family, Ross and Emily live on a small farm in a quiet valley near Bath, Somerset with their three children: two boys aged 12 and 9, and a daughter aged 6. We run a full time Son Rise Programme for our eldest boy who has autism. Our younger children are in an education project we co-set up (the first of its kind outside Brazil!). We want extra help with our children and the farm.

A happy can do attitude is essential, the magic words are, "How can I help?". We want people with the ability to form strong relationships with us, be open, have strong desire to learn more about yourself, a love of life and a will to live authentically in the world.

We live and work from home and and need help with our children, the farm and animals. We have a small holiday cottage, a Steiner Kindergarten and a small farm with sheep, ducks, hens and bees. There is a spring in our small woodland leading to 2 natural ponds. Ross also works with young people in care/excluded from education having a background in alternative education and social work. We also have an amazing network of amazing friends who are our extended family.

We also have a live in volunteer who co-runs our other programme.

Accommodation is in our lodge with beautiful views of our valley. It has a gas water heater, gas cooker, toilet, shower, wood burning stove and cool box.

We will provide you with a budget for food; as well as at least 2 shared meals per week with our family.

We require reliable, very independent, strong people (internal and externally) with practical outdoor skills. The ability to connect with children, is essential. Smiles, a sense of fun and a can do attitude are important. We need help with our children, they love the outdoors and have plenty of energy.

The ability to act on your own initiative, finish tasks and tidy up is essential. You need to enjoy the outdoors and be able to use tools. You do not need to be an expert, but be a quick learner and resourceful. You need to see what needs to be done and quick to ask, `How can I help you with this?`, and, `Can I do anything?`

Daily tasks and responsibilities: feeding and watering the chickens, and ducks, looking after the poly tunnel and vegetable plot (planting and care of the plants - in effect vegetable growing is yours!).

Weekly tasks: general farm maintenance jobs, looking after our children, cooking and sharing a meal with us, and a babysit would be amazing for Emily and I to have time together.

Projects: you can also have the opportunity of taking on a project, making bee frames (and learning about bees), building, making, maintaining our small woodland. There is always something to do on the farm and we invite you to leave your mark with a project! Previous volunteers have built a bike shed, laid a lawn, made beeswax products and preserved harvest produce.

We have a very full life with many responsibilities and we need someone to share our load. We present an amazing opportunity to you!

You will learn and experience our attitude (love, acceptance and non judgement), our farm and our children.

Please do not contact us if improving your English is your main goal. This is not our forte.

Would suit strong independent and hardy people with an excellent level of English.

Back to Top helpx.net
Copyright 2001 - 2019, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use