help exchange   Host 86546
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange helpx.net


Thames
All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 6
Persons: 1 or 2
Category: Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 86546
Region: Coromandel

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: August 5, 2020

We are a small and young farm progressing towards an organic certification. We strive towards applying ethics and principles of permaculture. We are committed to grow organic and nutrient dense produce, have extensive gardens and orchard, which we planted about 3 years ago and a growing family of 4 young daughters 8, 6, 4 and 2 years old. Our homesteading life includes growing most of our food in gardens and orchard, home education, running heritage free range chicken, ducks and a small family of South Devon cattle at the moment.

As we are in the process of developing our property we seek hard working helping hands and enthusiastic minds and bonus is keen interest in permaculture and organic gardening/agriculture. We love to meet enthusiastic helpers who have skills to share and a positive attitude. We will work alongside you and provide guidance and try to be outside as much as possible, working around our commitments with our work and homeschool activities.

Combining life of a Kiwi born Steve and Czech born Martina with professions in ecological architecture and plant ecology, respectively, we have had diverse life and international experiences. We hope we can offer an interesting experience and always happy to share our knowledge.

We URGENTLY seek help with tree planting, preparation for apple tree grafting, preparing our garden for spring sowing (weeding, mulching). We currently also need help with building, maintenance, painting and cleaning. Those who enjoy playing with children are most welcome.

Great hiking up the valley and surroundings within 20 minutes radius, refreshing bathing in a steam on the boundary, and a great surrounding community.

Currently we cannot offer accomodation, so ideally this would be self-provided by the helper in (semi) contained vehicle or a tent. Access to toilet/shower, outdoor fire-bath and kitchen is available. Internet available, we run on low energy and off the grid.
We will provide 3 homemade meals a day, 80% of our meals come from our garden. Our salads have 70+ different edible items. We are working towards 'a century salad'. Challenging and great learning opportunities.

Seeking enthusiastic people with a positive attitude and practical skills, esp gardening and building. Please let us know a bit about yourself, and the skills you have if you're interested. Email is the best way to contact us please.


Also we have a building project for German speakers who can decode a German written manual and put together a kit patio solar dryer, which we would love to use some time soon.

Availability immediately (6th August). Please contact us for details. Thank you

Back to Top helpx.net
Copyright 2001 - 2020, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use