help exchange   Host 87024
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange helpx.net


Sjællands Odde
All Year: Partly
Area (ha): 2
Persons: 5
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 87024
Country: Denmark

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: September 15, 2019

Dear volunteer! Please:
1) Read the full description and reply to the questions below before contacting me.
2) Note: I open for volunteers from a few days to two weeks duration from mid to end September. I need people to help tearing down walls and for cooking, cleaning and washing.

***

Hi! I'm Maj, a 39 year old environmental female artist who bought 2 hectares of land on the beach, just 1 year ago. It’s situated in the raw nature of Sjællands Odde in the heart of Denmark with it's own little pine forrest and only 1.5 hours drive from Copenhagen or Aarhus (ferry).

I'm starting up a creative hub for art, sustainability, and cultural exchange, where guests can go on inspirational work and holiday retreats. I welcome volunteers of all ages and gender and with all kinds of skills who would like to be pioneers, and help building up this new project.

All skills are needed here: Practical help/building/Outdoor/Computer/Cleaning/Housekeeping/cooking.

The working tasks are very flexible and can be adjusted to your interests and skills.

Please note: The project is still at it's initial stage and we live a bit in a construction site. Creative activities, workshops etc. only take place limited at the moment. For the time being we build, renovate, paint walls, remove bushes, cook, clean and basically carry out a lot of labour work. However, we also do our own yoga sessions and art projects once in a while.

When contacting me, please include:

1) Why this project in particularly interests you
2) How you think you could contribute and with which concrete tasks
3) Your interests, skills, age, preferences, values etc. - stuff that help me get an impression of who you are.
4) Your motivation for volunteering, weather it be cultural exchange, working holiday visa or other.

WORK
The work is 5 hours a day 5 days a week, days off are in the weekdays, as weekends are busy here. You can do longer days and take more days off to go to Aarhus or Copenhagen or elsewhere.

FOOD
Vegetarian, sometimes fish
Or whatever non meet food you choose to cook if you are the cook :)
We eat together, sometimes individuelle with guests, so if you are the cook, please be prepared to sometimes cook for 5-10 persons.

ACCOMODATION
You’ll stay in a dormitory shared with other volunteers.

*??????????????????????????????????Accomodation is no luxury, but in a beautiful natural area directly by the sea.

DURATION OF STAY
The duration of your stay can be app. 3 weeks.

FREETIME
The place is great for long walks, running, cycling, reading and writing.
Please, be sure you bring books, own projects or other to entertain yourself after work, as there is not much to do here after dark - except from chatting and playing games with other volunteers ofcourse.

SOCIAL TIME
The days are very varied. Many people come and go: Friends, volunteers, carpenters, and paying guests. Some days however are quiet and peaceful where we choose to be ourselves, watch TV, read or do other things.

SOCIAL MEDIA
There is internet access free to use moderately. Telephone calls and internet surfing should happen separately from work time and social time, and kept to the private spaces.

DRUGS & ALCOHOL
We sometimes serve alcohol, but generally alcohol is not a part of the everyday here.?Use of drugs (whead also) is not allowed on the area.

PLEASE NOTE:
As I’m so blessed to get many applications, I only reply to applicants who have read this listing and answer the above three topics. I don't reply on general applications or on request for time periods which are listed as occupied.

BRIEF FACTS:
Closest town: Havnebyen (5 km)
Transport: From Cph: 1,5h by car, 2,5-3h by public transport. Ferry to central Aarhus 3 min walk from the house, hitchhiking is easy and common.
Food: Vegetarian + fish
Area: Holiday house area with neighbor houses close by
Facilities: In the winter we stay in a small house next to the big house with hot water, electricity, washing machine and WiFi

After sending your application, if there is a good match, we’ll do a WhatsApp or FaceTime conversation where we can present each other, I can show you around here and you can ask all the questions you may have.

I'm looking forward to hearing from you!

Best wishes,
Maj

Back to Top helpx.net
Copyright © 2001 - 2019, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use