help exchange   Host 87356
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange helpx.net


Alachua
All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 16
Persons: up to 3
Category: Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 87356
Region: South

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: August 21, 2018

This organic orchard and turmeric farm is in Florida. We are located in the northern part of Florida 30 minutes north of Gainesville Florida. We grow peaches, Meyer Lemons, persimmons, and turmeric as well as small amounts of other fruits. From May to September the work consists of weeding, feeding, and pruning. The peach harvest is in May, but it is a Upick so there is not a lot of peach harvesting that needs to be done. Turmeric harvesting happens in late November and December and there is plenty to be done then. January is Meyer lemon harvesting and dormant pruning of stone fruit. February begins the next feeding cycle.

The farm is close to the springs of north Florida; Blue Springs, Genie Springs, Poe Springs, the Itchetucknee spring fed river, and the Santa Fe and Suwanee Rivers. Lots of kayaking and canoeing rentals and transport nearby.

We can provide air-conditioned and heated accommodations for up to 3 people at a time in exchange for help on the farm. There is an outdoor weather protected kitchen, and I will stock the refrigerator with what you need. You prepare your own meals. The shower is a solar shower which is near the kitchen as well as the rest room. I will put pictures of each on the profile. Some people come to experience hands on learning, and some come just for the work exchange. How ever you want to do it is fine. I want help for 5 hours a day for 5 days a week. In the hot weather we break in the hottest part of the day working mornings and late afternoon; knocking off by 6pm. Scheduling work hours is your choice. I suggest some work time in the morning and some in late afternoon, but if you want to work straight through the day, that is fine. Sometimes we will work together and sometimes you can work alone. Tasks are simple but some endurance is needed to keep up a reasonable pace. I prefer non smokers and vegetarian menus, but I can adapt if necessary. A stay of at least 10 days minimum, or for a month or even two months is fine. Hope you can make it.

If you have your own transportation you can enjoy the rivers and springs on your off days which can be any days of the week you choose. If you don't have transportation we may be able to work out transportation to Rum 138 where you can rent canoes or kayaks, and be shuttled to
and from the river.

Back to Top helpx.net
Copyright 2001 - 2020, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use