help exchange   Host 87410
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange helpx.net


São Francisco da Serra
All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 3,5
Persons: 1 or 2
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 87410
Country: Portugal

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: February 20, 2020

After having been a helper (https://www.helpx.net/profile.asp?usercode=948164JM), I'm happy to be a host and welcome you in this beautiful region!

I've been living in Portugal for 3 years. I work as a proofreader (French) occasionally. I am creating a pottery studio, kiln builders welcome!
The land is a cork forest on a hill. There are also some olive trees, and new fruits trees (that need watering). If you want to explore, lots of tracks from the house, streams (dry during summer). Also caving if you're keen.
The village is at a walkable distance, nearest beach a 15 min drive.

I need help with the ongoing land maintenance and some finishing touches for the house:
- cleaning the forest (brush cutting, chainsawing), track maintenance
- weeding and watering the gardens and fruit trees,
- building a wooden compost toilet
- lime washing walls (almost done!)
- creating a terraced garden bed
- any suggestion to improve the space.

The deal would be the usual 4 hours work, 5 days a week. 3 meals are provided, usually vegetarian. Self-prepared breakfast, other meals are shared. Please no early birds, as my house is an open space.

Accommodation is in a yurt with double bed, and if needed, extra mattress. I trust you to follow maintenance rules that go with this kind of home:
- No shoes and no food inside. Being clean and tidy is essential as mice are a major threat.
- It has to be ventilated everyday.
- In winter the wooden stove can be tricky to light and maintain, experience is appreciated.

Atm there is no toilet, only bush toilet (a bucket with leaves). You have to enjoy contact with nature and not be scared by bugs. Wi-fi available :)

It would also suit people travelling by van. In that case we'll make an arrangement for less work hours. Also if you want to contribute with food and work less you're welcome.
If you don't have a vehicle I can pick you up in either Santiago do Cacém or Grândola.

I need of course practical people, but also mature, independent, organised and self-motivated. This is a quiet life, I enjoy reading books and I try to attend cultural events whenever there is something (theatre, movies...). There are also nice cafes around for socialisation.

If it sounds interesting to you, tell me what you'd like to do and your dates. Feel free to ask for more details; we can speak in French, English, Portuguese or Spanish. After having to put an end to my travels, I am looking forward to have people from everywhere coming here.

Maybe I should add that [despite having a yurt] I don't buy at all the energetic trend, so if you're into "spirituality" I appreciate that you keep your enlightenment for yourself and show other aspects of your personality. If you're a free thinker, that's better!

Back to Top helpx.net
Copyright © 2001 - 2020, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use