help exchange   Host 87596
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange helpx.net


Kaukapakapa
All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 1
Persons: 1
Category: Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 87596
Region: Auckland

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: September 23, 2018

Our Community
Kaukapakapa is a small rural community 45mins NW of Auckland. We live in a lovely cul de sac and are very close to our neighbors on the street, often having street BBQ's and get togethers.

Our home
I live in a traditional old farm house built in the late 1800's (which is considerably old for New Zealand!). It is a large house with country style kitchen, old, detailed high ceilings and beautiful views down to NZ native wetlands and the river.

Your room will be a large upstairs room away from the main family rooms with views and windows on three sides.

We are largely self-sufficient in terms of fruit and vegetables and use organic practices for growing our food. The property is only small (3 acres) but there is always maintenance to be done, such as mulching, weeding etc.

About us
Our family consists of myself and my two children aged 6 and 9yo. My father also stays here during the weekends. We also have two cats, a bottle fed lamb, 2 horses and 8 chickens.

I grew up in cities - Auckland, Zurich and Sydney and have been living in Perth and Vienna the last 8 years. It has always been my dream to live in the country and I am so grateful that this is now a reality. We returned from Austria about 18 months ago so this lifestyle is also very new for the children but they love it.

I work in Research and Development for an Austrian company and do this from home. I am also a volunteer firefighter, so there may be some baby sitting if I am called out to an emergency. But my children are wonderful, easy ages and a delight to be around! They are also fluent German speakers so any German speakers would be highly sought after to keep the language alive in the children!

I would love to host a people to share our farm and our life with during October. Pref 2 days up to 1 week stay.

May include weeding / gardening, building up garden beds, putting in mulch around trees, some house chores such as washing windows, planting trees etc.

I look forward to hearing from you!

Back to Top helpx.net
Copyright 2001 - 2020, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use