help exchange   Host 87615
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange helpx.net


Cabool
All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 12
Persons: 5
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 87615
Region: Midwest

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: March 9, 2020

Howdy, we are Joshua, Christopher and Lucas and we are Topaz Homestead located in the beautiful and rural Cabool area in Missouri.

Our homestead is quite humble and there's a lot of work that needs to be done but we have a wonderful greenhouse in it's third season of growing all sorts of delicious and flavorful salad greens, lettuces and other veggies that we will be pre-packaging into gourmet salads to sell at local farmers markets, co-ops and to subscribing customers. It will take us about three months (as of 03/05/20) to have another batch of farm fresh salads ready to sell and a lot of work that needs to get done before then.

There's always projects to work on and right now we need someone who can help with mulching, some minor fence repairs, helping dig and lay irrigation systems and installing a caterpillar tunnel before the summer comes. We also want to get a better composting system this season as well.

There's goats, chickens and a slew of cats and dogs that are all outdoor animals so no need to worry about allergies as none of them ever go into the house. The lodging we can provide at this time is a shared dormitory style room with a bunk bed, though if we have a female wwoof'er we can arrange to give you your own private room and bathroom.


Christopher is here just about 24/7 tending to the greenhouse and other projects around the farm while Joshua and Lucas are on-call 24/7 for their plumbing and electrical business so you will be working primarily alongside him and he'd love to find someone that is self-starting, driven, focused and goal-oriented.

Meals are provided and we typically eat together as a family for breakfast (usually around 7am) and together at dinner (630pm) but because of their on-call schedule sometimes we might be on our own but we like to cook big enough meals so I can set aside a plate for anyone who is going to be absent. We don't eat any sugar and we stay away from most all processed foods but we are not a vegan household. There's a mini fridge in the shared dormitory space so if you have any creature comfort foods you are welcome to purchase them yourself but as far as the foods provided its typically veggies, protein, oats and some grains.

The closest Greyhound station is in Springfield Missouri and with enough advanced notice one of us should be able to come pick you up if you don't have your own transportation. In our spare time, Lucas and I enjoy playing and making music together, he plays guitar and I sing.

We do have WiFi and get decent cell reception where we are at so no worries about that. If you are willing to commit to being here throughout our production season with the salad business then we can discuss crop shares paid in cash at that time.

Please contact us to arrange your stay! We'd be happy to have you!

Sincerely,

Christopher, Joshua and Lucas

PS upcoming projects include: Mulching that needs to be completed by April 15th, an irrigation system that needs to be in by the end of June, designing a caterpillar tunnel for shade in the greenhouse by the 1st of July and getting the greenhouse winter-ready needs done by the 1st of September.


Back to Top helpx.net
Copyright 2001 - 2020, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use