help exchange   Host 87752
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange helpx.net


Lyngseidet
All Year: Yes
Area (ha):
Persons: 4
Category: Other
Host ID: 87752
Country: Norway

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: November 6, 2019


*** Right now february 2019 we are renovating wooden floors : we need help to scrap old paint and make 100 yo wood breathe again ***

We try to save a huge 100y old wooden building which used to be a school. Our project is to turn it into a guest house with the possibility to organise events such as concert or weddings.
400m away from "Solhov" (the historic building), Ingunn has a family house that is an organic farm. We need help there also especially in summer time.

Ingunn is a doctor 3 days a week and Mathieu was a technical teacher but prefers now to fix everything here. We both enjoy nature and we use to go kayaking for a grilling eve in the island or go skiing during our free time. Mathieu is a hang-and-paraglider pilot and Ingunn is impassioned about dance. Randy (Ingunn's mother) is leaving close by and has a lot of energy. Her dog Luna and our cat Maya are really good friends, but not really helpfull for our projects, even if they tryed.

We would like (and use to) host volunteers as members of our family or really close friends: coming and volunteering at our place will save us time we would like to share with you to discover Norwegian culture and enjoy the surroundings.

A 100y old building needs dayly little maintenance, not only cleaning.

We have several projects we want to set up such as :
- renovate a 130 square meter room as a yoga studio (paint, floor, windows, roof)
- build a sauna in the beach, close to the badestamp (hot tub) (dig the ground, make the wallsin concrete and the wooden inside for it)
- fix an old wooden dependencie that is almost falling.
- moving some old stuff
- for sure any of your suggestion will be welcomed !!

In the meantime, part of the help needed is depending on the seasons/weather to keep our house in good condition such as :


summer :
- cleaning a strawberry field and picking strawberries (august)
- painting the buildings
- cutting the grass
- cutting wood for the winter
- mechanical work (tractor, minibus, boat engines)

winter :
- help with tourists
- cleaning rooms
- preparing food
- clearing the snow
- general maintenance
- help with carpentering, plumbing and fixing rooms.
- decoration

Lyngseidet is 1,5 hour drive from Tromsø. Bus line 100 and 150 are crossing by 4 times a day. We also need to go to Tromsø sometimes.
If you come in the summer, you can see the midnight sun, and if you come in the winter, it is possible to see the northern light. As the beautiful surroundings, this must be lived and cannot be explained ...
If you enjoy nature, it is the perfect place for you ...
- Hiking in forest and mountains.
- Kayaking / snowshoeing / bike riding
- Bath in a hot tub
- Swimming in the sea
- Fishing
Do you know what “lyngen” means ? Please start your request with the first idea that comes into your mind to be sure you read the complete advert.

Back to Top helpx.net
Copyright © 2001 - 2019, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use