help exchange   Host 8795
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange helpx.net


Algarve
All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 70
Persons: 5
Category: Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 8795
Country: Portugal

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: April 12, 2020

Estamos procurando um professor para crianças de 6/10 anos para um pequeno projeto aqui na quinta Entre em contato conosco para mais informações
Welcome to the paradise close to the most stunning beaches in the South West coast of the Algarve.(Praia Bordeira 1 km, Praia Amado 3 km).The work of volunteers allows the families of farmers to continue to work and live on their farms. The volunteers can be part of this rural life.
Here is revealed a new and unexpected view of the world. Through hard work, a life without a watch,With the calm and harmony of nature bloom satisfaction and joy.

ABOUT US:
We are a couple, an Italian cook, Dania (here since 2007) a technical engineer from Austria Klaus (here since 2002) and our daughter Joana (born August 2012) We live a self sustainable lifestyle as far as possible.
We are looking only for people who really want to experience life and work in this conditions. People who will be happy to be here and do their best as we will try so.
OUR JOBS AND PROJECTS:
Current projects include: work in the garden, cooking, ecological buildings, caring for animals, construction of walls of straw and clay... Also someone interested in looking after our horse's could feel free to take over.
We start (since September 2019) a small homeschooling here in our farm with 8 children and a portuguese teacher, if you think that you can contribute with any help .. dancing, music, art work, cooking (vegan food), yoga, meditation , construction new toys etc ...YOU ARE WELCOME!!!!
Do you have artistic flair in carpentry workshop?
I'm looking for someone to stay and help complete the traditional Portuguese donkey cart, restoring an old boat we restore a caravan with wood and many other woodwork!!
Especially carpenters would have varieties of material to use and could fulfill creative dreams which would be appreciated (by using) straight away. We have all the tools for carpentry.
Alternative Eco Building Interested?
We build with straw and clay, we have plans to finish building a animals home, a small house in the top of the mountain in straw, a small stone house to restore.
Do you have artistic flair in metal workshop?
We have lots of metal workshop tools making decorative art with copper, steel and stainless steel and so on.
Restore old bikes and historic farming tools.
We are planting several small pine trees, and we are happy if you want to help us in this project! (from November to February)
All year round there are jobs keeping things clean and planting seedlings.
The pine trees that have been planted over the years now they are pretty big they need to be cut off the low branches so is another It is' a big job to do!
If you want to cook and keep order in the kitchen you are welcome!!!
Also anyone who is good at sewing is welcome and we would have jobs for you!
The most frequently question that the volunteers the ask me is:
What type of work should we expect to be doing?
These are the projects and jobs that we want to realize, this does not mean that we do all this together, for the type of work that we assign to you we have to first see your capacity and experience, the jobs you are passionate and that you enjoy doing, the type of season (too much sun, rain, windy) anyway we will decide together in the morning during the breakfast.
If you don't have work experience you are welcome too.
We ask you to be MOTIVATED AND INTERESTED to learn new work experiences, all these techniques and materials harmonize well together and we are more than happy to share our life experience with EAGER ENERGETIC PEOPLE!
We are also looking for people who are tired of city life and that they have the desire to work and live here with us!
Help 6 hours a day from Monday to Friday,
Saturday 4 hours (Sundays free)
HOBBIES:
Free time to enjoy nature, beach, kayaking, solar energy, horse riding and do whatever you like to do!
ABOUT ACCOMMODATIONS PROVIDED:
Accommodations are simple, we have a big room with 7 beds, caravan available, tents only in summer.
Compost Toilet and Solar shower , we have kitchen, living room with wood stove.
IMPORTANT:
from April to October: bring works gloves, work clothes, ecological soap, good sleeping bag, torch ,towels and good sun lotion!
from November to March:
bring works gloves, work clothes, ecological soap, good sleeping bag, warm pajamas and wool socks (in the night is cold and we don't have heating system), towels, rain jacket and plastic boots (wrapped we have to work outside when it rains)
FOOD:
We have 3 meals together; breakfast, lunch and dinner.
Our meals are simple, available are organic vegetables from our garden, pasta, rice, home-made bread and pizza, eggs from our chickens, very rarely meat and fish.
VEGETARIANS, MACROBIOTIC, VEGANS ETC... ARE MORE THAN WELCOME!
WHAT WE EXPECT FROM THE VOLUNTEERS:
*When you have given your availability,we would be happy that you really came!
*You're a welcome if you are really motivated and energetic people!
*Inviting all that are interested in working together and learning from each other.
*Self initiated projects are welcome!.
*Bring ecological shampoo and soap (the water will be used in the garden)
*Stay minimum 2/3 weeks.(The length of staying depends of individual relations but we don't limit it before hands. It can be 2 weeks same as 8 months).
*Respect Nature, the Infrastructure and Each Other
*We work from 9:00 to 13:00 have lunch and then from 14:00 to 16:00.
Saturday: 4 hrs from 9:00 to 13:00

Back to Top helpx.net
Copyright © 2001 - 2020, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use