help exchange   Host 88036
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange helpx.net


Qualicum Beach
All Year: June to September
Area (ha): 7
Persons: 1 or 2
Category: Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 88036
Region: Vancouver Island

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: May 7, 2019

We are the second generation to farm this property and we are struggling to get a leg up. We have four kids, as well as chickens, sheep and a few ducks. Our livestock dogs, Whiskey and Rosy are keen to spend some time with one or two helpers who are able to help out with odd jobs such as:
digging fence post holes
stacking firewood
weeding
helping with the animals
helping with some roofing
generally lend a hand where your talents and interests lay.

We live in a fantastic place and we will enjoy helping you out to see as much as is possible of the Island. Our location is a bike ride to town, but we are just a 8 minute drive there too. Tofino and Victoria are not far away, as are Nanaimo and Courtenay. Goats on the Roof, Butterfly World and a Buddist Temple are not far away and you will enjoy the quirkiness of this region.

The accommodation that we can provide is a comfortable cabin with a bathroom, no hot water. Your view is of the mountains and fields with a double bed, a table for four, and a bathroom. Your meals would be with our family, but you would have your privacy, and wifi. If you have a child or two, we might be able to accommodate them with you in the cabin.

We would love to have your help and company, but I am limited in my vegetarian meals, so please keep that in mind. We definitely do not smoke, but a beer or glass/mug of wine does not go amiss.

You can contact me through Messenger under Joanne Menninga. My id photo is a tulip.

We have just had our first volunteer worker and he is amazing and we are loving the relationship that we are building. Our kids are enjoying learning about a new culture and we get to show off our Island, which we love!! So, if you are on the Island during this time, and you want a place to rest your heads for a month or so, feel free to contact us and we can talk.

Back to Top helpx.net
Copyright 2001 - 2020, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use