help exchange   Host 88068
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange helpx.net


Blenheim
All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 8
Persons: 1 or 2
Category: Non Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 88068
Region: Marlborough

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: January 13, 2020

We are a small family with 2 young school aged children 6 and 7 yrs. We have been here on the vineyard for 4 years. This is our primary focus.

We are growing a small orchard, our own vegetables and have lots of gardens and lawns to mow! We have olive trees, chickens and a cat and dog. We try to reduce, reuse and recycle as much as possible

My husband and I both have experience in Biodynamic farming at previous work-place employment's.

My husband and I did all the work that we could on the vineyard in the first 2 years and then we realised that we weren't having any fun with our small children. We joined HELPX last year and had such a good experience with helpers that were keen to try and help out.

It is SPRING and there is plenty of help needed in the vineyard (Shoot thinning, sucker removal and wire lifting).
The olives will need some attention soon too.... There are usually other gardening (vege and flowers) and little tidy-up jobs that I don't get around to doing myself!

My husband manages other vineyards and I work in the vineyard, teach yoga x3 week and do volunteer work in town.

We have a spare room for accommodation, with a shared bathroom, free Wi-Fi, and very good decent food. We expect you to tidy up after yourself and help out with dishwashing etc.

There is access to bikes, walking tracks, local wineries from our property. Renwick is a small farming town (5km away) which has everything you need and Blenheim, the bigger town (20km)has everything else!

We would be happy to have you join in with family activities if you wished. We need People with initiative and 'can-do' attitude and NON SMOKERS.

We suggest 4 hours a day of helping and this is best first thing in the morning while still cool or no wind. You can help all day and have a free day. We are flexible to people who are honest and try hard.

Most of the helping will be outside. We are planning to become organic in the upcoming years.

reviews (5)
Helper: Lotta and Johanna Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: Germany Date: November 22, 2019
We only stayed 3 nights but we really enjoyed spending time with Leisha, Loga... view complete review

Helper: Kana Hagiwara Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: Japan Date: March 10, 2019
Thank you for valuable experiences in your vineyard !! Jobs are picking g... view complete review

Helper: Tim Pahor Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: Slovenia Date: March 3, 2019
Sorry Leisha, just realized i forgot about the review. I stayed with Macke... view complete review

Helper: Lénaïck and Flora Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: France Date: February 21, 2019
French : Nous avons passé une semaine dans cette famille adorable ! Un accuei... view complete review

Helper: Clothilde and Mickael Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: France Date: January 2, 2019
French : Nous sommes arrivés en tant qu'helpers pour un séjour d'une semaine ... view complete review

Back to Top helpx.net
Copyright © 2001 - 2020, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use