help exchange   Host 88185
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange helpx.net


Melbourne
All Year: Yes
Area (ha): NA
Persons: up to 3
Category: Other
Host ID: 88185
Region: Victoria

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: August 21, 2019

I have a waterfront cafe/restaurant where you will be working approximately 4 to 5 hours a day 4 or 5 days a week with week ends off.
The job is simplistic for those who are inexperienced and consists mainly of helping the chef, washing dishes. waiting on tables, for those more confident and who are proficient in English there can be some serving and counter food preparation if you so desire.
In all cases you are an extra and the staff love this as there is less work for them.All the transport to and from the cafe is provided and the cafe is 3 K from the CBD.
I live in a modern 4 bedroom house in Werribee, where workers have their own room and toilet. I have free WIFI. I live 500m from the station, where a train runs to Melbourne every 20 min, 22 hrs a day.

About 4 times a year I go to öutback" Australia where I legally hunt and shoot feral animals and these trips last for about 8 days, if desirous and suitable helpers can accompany for no charge but this is entirely optional and they can choose to remain in the house and do cafe work
I am happy to have interns who are required to come and work on a university or like type agreement for several months.I have had number over the years who have successfully performed work for board to the satisfaction of their university
We have over many years trained and fully qualified helpers in the all aspects of the cafe trade including preparation of all foods and teaching and fully qualifying them in coffee making as a barista etc. For this however proficient english and a minimum of three months is required under the same work/time factor conditions.The above is of course completely optional but I can say without doubt a number have gone on the get paid jobs because of this training.However in the main helpers stay here 3 or 4 weeks
I can accommodate 3 helpers at the same time, and I prefer longer stay helpers.
Meals are of a high quality, some cooked at home, some cooked in the café. Helpers can cook themselves if they wish from food provided.
I also make my own beer which I believe is of a high quality and superior to big name brands.

There is a registered roadworthy vehicle to drive for private use of helpers if appropriately licensed.

Vegans no problem, smoking similarly. I am completely "laidback" about the work and encourage helpers to actively seek out all the tourist spots in Melbourne.




Photographs:
1. Friday Night BBQ Night
2. One of the 3 rooms in the house
3. The outside view of our waterfront café
4. Colin, my son and manager of the café, with our helper Alex
5. David,Maxiboy and Arthur on a trip together
6. The outback where I go at times on my little expeditions

reviews (11)
Helper: Laureline Hélène Léchot Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: Switzerland Date: July 21, 2019
I stayed about six weeks at David's place and I really enjoyed my stay there!... view complete review

Helper: Marie Jornod Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: Switzerland Date: July 7, 2019
I've been at David's for more than a month and after several experiences of ... view complete review

Helper: Sophie kha Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: Switzerland Date: May 17, 2019
I stayed 3 weeks and half with David and there is no words to describe how go... view complete review

Helper: Pingping Yang Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: China Date: April 17, 2019
Highly recommended my host David ,I have spend 3 weeks in David home ,... view complete review

Helper: Chenpeng Hong Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: China Date: April 9, 2019
I stayed in David's place for 4 weeks from 10 March to 6 April. It was an ama... view complete review

Helper: Mauricio Daza Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: Chile Date: March 21, 2019
My time with David was great, he is pretty respectful and has too many intere... view complete review

Helper: Lucas ANTOINE Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: France Date: March 4, 2019
Originally came in Australia in the purpose of working, I was stuggling to fi... view complete review

Helper: Harry Pan Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: China Date: February 7, 2019
David is an absolutely nice and hospitable host. He usually accepts long term... view complete review

Helper: Dominik Dudas Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: Hungary Date: November 18, 2018
I stayed 3 wonderful Weeks in Davids home. Time flies here very fast and i ... view complete review

Helper: Sophie Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: France Date: November 4, 2018
I stayed with David for 5 weeks and I really enjoyed it. I was mostly working... view complete review

Helper: Alex Perrin Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: France Date: October 22, 2018
I have spent 3 weeks at David's house and it was a very good first experience... view complete review

Back to Top helpx.net
Copyright © 2001 - 2019, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use