help exchange   Host 88393
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange helpx.net


Stavanger
All Year: Yes
Area (ha):
Persons: 1
Category: Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 88393
Country: Norway

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: July 4, 2019

I'm looking for people interested in collecting wild edible plants and permaculture gardening.

I'm a 47 year old man, living alone in an old wooden house near the city center of Stavanger.
For several years I've hosted travelers regularly (couchsurfers and paying guests).

The garden is 5 km from my house, on a hill outside the city. The main task there is collecting mulch in the forest (leaves, branches, grass etc.) to build raised beds or cover the ground around the plants.

We'll pick wild herbs/berries/fruit by the lakes and sea 5-10 km from my house.
At home we'll dry or ferment the plants.
I love explaining about gardening, plants and healthy lifestyle.

We'll use bicycles to get around and part of the experience will be cycling through nature and taking breaks to enjoy it.
In summer you can join me swimming. Or dipping in the cold water the rest of the year.
We can play sports (badminton, football, table tennis, volleyball, frisbee) or guitar together.
I can teach you Norwegian language if you want to learn.
If you don't know how to cycle, I will teach you :-)

You'll have your own little bedroom with a comfy bed, sheets and towels.
We'll share kitchen, living room and bathroom.
I'm not good at cooking, but you'll get whatever food you need for cooking, either from the garden or a nearby organic shop.

Most people visit Stavanger to hike in the nearby mountains. Preikestolen and Kjerag are the most popular destinations, but there are also other nice, less crowded mountains.
Stavanger has a small city center with a cozy old town.

Back to Top helpx.net
Copyright 2001 - 2019, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use