help exchange   Host 88417
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange helpx.net


ELCHE
All Year: Yes
Area (ha):
Persons: 1, 2 or 3
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 88417
Country: Spain

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: November 9, 2019

I usually accommodate two exchange helpers, each with their own room. or I can cnsider a couple and a single person. I live on the outskirts (2km) of a typically Spanish village . Also near a Spanish Seaside resort of Santa Pola (7km) which is about 10 minutes by car as is also the city of Elche (12km). I am a woman and I live with 1 elderly 16 year old German Shepherd dog with mobility difficulty and 3 rescued indoor cats. Animal Lovers only please as my animals live as part of the family in the home and my elderly dog needs a lot of assistance with her mobility right now. If you have any allergies to cats or dogs this placement is not for you either, I am a teacher of English. I am happy to help with English, but I would prefer that whoever stays has a usable level of English to enable us to communicate successfully. I do also have family nearby, but they work and live independently.

Types of help:
-Gardening
-General maintenance
-Building
-Cooking / shopping
-Help in the house
-Animal care
-Language practice
-Help with Computers / internet
Hours required 5 hours a day/5 days a week.

I live on the Costa Blanca on the outskirts of a typical Spanish village, (2km to the village centre) near to the city of Elche and not far from the seaside town of Santa Pola. 10 minutes drive or 30 minutes by bike. There is a bus that runs from the village to the city of Elche which is only 10 minutes away by car and from there buses and trains can be taken locally and Nationally. The airport of Alicante is 15 minutes away and Alicante city about 20 minute drive. I have a small plot of land and 1 semi disabled dog and 4 indoor cats. I run a business teaching English classes from Home as well as outside classes. So it is important someone is here whilst i am working. I have had some back and knee problems (although better now) and really need some help with the house, animals (as a priority my dog is disabled and needs assistance with walking , also has a wheelchair and general care and someone being at home with her, especially when I am working) and general help cleaning, cooking, painting and some maintenance on the property, Gardening etc. I am a fully qualified teacher and work both from home and home visits to students .
IMPORTANT A love of animals, compassion, commitment and willingness to help and care for them is an absolute must.! Because of my situation it is very important that you are sure about the time you can stay and that you are happy to help with my dog. She needs walking regularly outside with a harness. some leg exercises, brushing and sometimes feeding. Please be sure you would be able to come and stay before committing . if you have pet allergies too this is not a good placement for you as my pets live indoors.

Accommodation:
Own Bedroom and use of bathroom facility in a spacious country home with large garden and pool. Although there are a few buses which leave locally, to the city - There is a seaside resort only 7 km away and can be easily reached by bike. Own transport would be a good idea. But I do have a 2 bikes that I am more than happy for helpers to use. I am not a smoker, but happy to accept smokers who can smoke outside . We have plenty of outside space and covered areas. Although I am a vegetarian, I am happy to have non vegetarian helpers to stay. Due to the nature of this help and to eae the disruption to my dog and the tim training people I do ask for a minimum stay of one month.

Back to Top helpx.net
Copyright 2001 - 2019, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use