help exchange   Host 88655
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange helpx.net


Toulouse
All Year: March to October
Area (ha):
Persons: 2-4
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 88655
Country: France

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: April 17, 2019

We are bringing back to life a 500 year old French house in the foothills of the mountains that has suffered more than 50 years of neglect. It has a fertile garden that is totally, naturally organic but needs clearing and planting with our choice of vegetation rather than what chooses to grow there itself (in great profusion).

The sort of jobs that we would like help with include food preservation, cleaning, re-organising, repairing, rebuilding, decorating in the house, clearing, landscaping, planting, weeding, power and other tool maintenance and repair, etc.

We are looking for people who share our desire to have a simple sustainable lifestyle that is stress free and very much aligned with the principles of nature. We like to meditate, practise yoga, we are vegetarian, we do not smoke or drink alcohol, and we prefer wherever possible to use herbs and natural healing methods over allopathic medicine.

We aim to enjoy working with you in all these exciting projects. During times off there are plenty of opportunities for walking and cycling, and sometimes rafting and canoeing.The house is in the Pyrenees where there are many interesting hiking trails.

We believe in enjoying what we do and doing it without any stress involved.

We need help 5 hrs per day, with breaks in between, Monday to Friday and have weekends free. We would normally expect to be able to take you with us on local trips on days off, Saturdays and Sundays, or you can borrow bicycles from us.

There will be an opportunity to learn many skills such as sustainable living, permaculture based gardening, building and decorating, opportunity to use equipment such as sand blasters, welders, work in fully equipped woodworking workshop,and in the spare time aromatherapy, relaxation techniques, and fused glass art, etc.

Accommodation (with WiFi) is in a shared room and shared bathroom. We provide full board of delicious vegetarian cuisine. We would all take part in preparing our food, cooking, washing dishes, cleaning the kitchen after meals, and other domestic chores such as sweeping and mopping floors of the areas used by all, topping up drinking water for the kitchen etc, unless agreed otherwise. Basically keeping tidy the environment we all live in. These tasks will be in addition to the 5 hrs of help required.

We would welcome anyone who can bring music or other entertainment skills, and we welcome all, irrespective of race, colour, religion, etc. providing you do not drink alcohol, smoke cigarettes or otherwise, or take drugs.

We are sorry but we cannot accommodate people with children or pets.

For those with nut allergies, also note, we eat tree nuts a lot.

It is important that everyone has got a suitable visa and health/accident insurance in place.

For health and safety reasons we welcome people who can understand basic English, and we are able to help you improve your English if you wish as we are CELTA (Certificate of English Language Teaching to Adults) certified teachers.

We would welcome a native French speaker who could help us improve our command of this beautiful language.
K
We would like to learn Spanish, Italian and Portuguese, so native speakers of these languages would also be appreciated.

We would love to have the first helpers arrive in the spring. We would like people to be able to stay for at least a week. The nearest airport is Toulouse, or there is a wide choice of local, national and international buses and trains. We can meet you at any convenient pick up point by arrangement.

If this sounds like your kind of opportunity we would love to hear from you.

Please note, we do not have Television.

If you think this might suit you, please write to us explaining how you think your skills, personality and experience would be helpful to us, and what you hope to get from your stay with us. Please feel free to ask any specific questions if the information you need is not covered in the profile.

The expectation is that we all are washed, dressed and ready in good time to help prepare breakfast to be had at 8.30 am and start work at 9.30 am.

In order for this to be possible we expect that we finish any activities and are asleep by 11 pm.

When applying please confirm your agreement to the above and your understanding that the project is in the small village in the Pyrenees, and that it is not a farm.


reviews (3)
Helper: Félix and Cindy Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: France Date: April 27, 2019
Content que l'expérience ce soit bien passé pour toi Sara, mais je maintiens ... view complete review

Helper: Sara Aalto Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: United Kingdom Date: April 26, 2019
It was great pleasure to meet and work together with Anna and Robert. They ar... view complete review

Helper: Félix and Cindy Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: France Date: April 14, 2019
Moins de deux semaines passé chez Anna et Robert, je suis parti avant la date... view complete review

View Hosts Reply to this Review  

Back to Top helpx.net
Copyright © 2001 - 2019, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use