help exchange   Host 88790
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange helpx.net


La Línea de la Concepción
All Year: Yes
Area (ha):
Persons: 1
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 88790
Country: Spain

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: November 8, 2018

I'm Kat and my goal is to heal myself naturally from Crohn’s disease. It takes effort to care for myself, and I need rest to heal. The help I'm asking for is cooking, shopping, washing up and cleaning.

Most of the work is cooking for the GAPS / SCD diet, and I will teach you the recipes. It is mostly fresh meat, fish, vegetables, fruit and some dairy. The animal products are as ethical as possible. You will learn skills like slow cooking meat broth; making food using all parts of the animal from bone to skin; making probiotic yoghurt; fermenting vegetables; making cooking fat; filleting fish.

You don’t need to speak Spanish when you arrive, but you will need to learn some basics for shopping, which I will teach you.

The timetable is flexible, approx 4-5 hours, 4-5 days per week - a typical day's help looks like this:

Start boiling meat or fish broth and make Kat breakfast or lunch.
Go shopping at local shops while Kat watches broth.
House cleaning or errands.
Prepare vegetables, yoghurt or other meals.
Finish preparing broth and meat.
Empty bins and tidy up in the evening.

I have a beautiful beachside home in a unique place, where fishermen still work using traditional methods and people live a typically Andalusian life, just a couple of kilometres from multicultural historic Gibraltar.

My home is a sanctuary, and bad influences are not allowed in. This means you can’t bring tobacco, alcohol, additives, added sugar or sweeteners, refined carbohydrates, processed food, or gluten (wheat). It also means things like discrimination, aggression and TV can’t come in.

I am a qualified and experienced language teacher and career consultant. I can give you language lessons in English up to proficiency level, or Spanish up to intermediate level. I can give you advice on finding work, planning careers, applications, interviews, and I can help with job-hunting in Spain and Gibraltar.

I can also share my skills in hula hoop dancing, cognitive therapy, budgeting and accounts, public writing and speaking, and project management. Also, I can teach my knowledge of alternative relationships, feminism and anti-capitalism. I would enjoy practising yoga, meditation, music and French together.

Back to Top helpx.net
Copyright © 2001 - 2019, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use