help exchange   Host 88812
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange helpx.net


Waitakere
All Year: Yes
Area (ha):
Persons: 1 or 2
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 88812
Region: Auckland

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: August 11, 2020

We are a couple entering our vintage years.
Our large peaceful lifestyle property is located in Swanson at the foothills of the beautiful Waitakere ranges with bush walks black sand surf beaches with all amenities close by.

Its a great place to start or end your travels in New Zealand.
The train is a 10 minute walk and the bus at the end of our road. The Westwave heated pool and gym a 10 minute drive or take the train.
The Auckland CBD 20 minutes drive off peek Auckland international airport 30 minute drive off peek.

We are vegetarians and have chickens a pony and a cat. We have a large organic vegetable garden and lots of flower gardens and a young orchard and are trying to implement a permaculture system on our property so any persons with knowledge in this area would be greatly appreciated as would anyone with landscaping and gardening skills.
We are looking for one or two helpers who are self motivated fit and strong honest and reliable and enjoy outdoor work as we have always things to do outside which include gardening, weeding,fire wood, helping with small building projects, planting and transplanting and painting and helping with the animals.

We also have an Air BNB dwelling and a large house which may need cleaning so it is useful if you know how to manage general housekeeping, cleaning windows etc may need to be done.

We are looking for helpers who can speak and understand English and are self motivated and capable of working unsupervised at times.
A knowledge of using outside tools and knowing about gardening would be useful and not afraid of working outside if its a little bit wet. We do have raincoats if you need them.

We are vegetarians and can provide you with fresh fruit and vegetables from the garden when we have plenty or will buy some from the shop.

As I work and sleepover at work two or three days a week you will need to cook your own meals and organize your own breakfast and lunch I will provide you with fruit and vegetables breakfast cereals eggs bread spread and basics and may cook the occasional meal for you but you will mainly be cooking for yourself.
I do not provide food for special dietary requirements such as gluten or wheat free or special milks.

Your accommodation could be in our self contained caravan or in the BNB Holiday home on our property which you can see more pictures of at our Air bnb listing'Palm Haven'
You must keep your accommodation clean and tidy in your own time and follow our house rules.

We will not tolerate any use of illegal drugs and if you smoke it is to be done outside and no cigarette butts left on the grounds.

We expect you to work 4 hours a day for each night you spend with us and are negotiable if you prefer to work longer each day so you can have more time to do your own thing.
Some days we work shorter hours depending on how we feel and how the weather is.
In summer an early morning start is a must as it can be very hot later in the day.

We are happy to help plan your trip around New Zealand and help in any way we can.

We prefer stays up to one week and not longer than two weeks but if we find we have more jobs to do we can negotiate an extension should you wish to stay longer.

We do have internet but it is not unlimited and prefer you to use your mobile data as we need it for ourselves and our BNB guests so please don't stream movies as our data will run out and top ups are very expensive.

We look forward to sharing the journey
with you.

Donna and Michael Gladwin.

reviews (6)
Helper: Tony and Amelie Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: France Date: January 22, 2020
We stayed one week at the end of our NZ trip at Donna & Michael’s house. It w... view complete review

Helper: Daniel Rodrigues Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: Portugal Date: October 16, 2019
I liked very much staying with Michael and Donna. The place is very peacef... view complete review

View Hosts Reply to this Review  

Helper: Anne Biesianczyk Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: Germany Date: October 10, 2019
We spend a wonderful week with Donna and Michael, who we're so lovely and nic... view complete review

Helper: Marie Hänsel Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: Germany Date: October 10, 2019
Donna and Michael are extremely nice people and I loved staying with them! D... view complete review

Helper: Helen and Jacob Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: United Kingdom Date: April 30, 2019
This was our last HelpX in New Zealand before continuing onto our next travel... view complete review

View Hosts Reply to this Review  

Helper: Menghua Zhang Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: China Date: March 13, 2019
Gorgeous!Fantastic! the bestest person! Our dear lovely Donna and Michael! We... view complete review

View Hosts Reply to this Review  

Back to Top helpx.net
Copyright © 2001 - 2020, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use