help exchange   Host 88875
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange helpx.net


NAVACELLES
All Year: May 2020
Area (ha): 0.15
Persons: 1 single
Category: Non Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 88875
Country: France

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: November 20, 2019

We are a French/Australian artist couple, living 6 months of the year in France, in our two-storey stone Provencal “mas”. Navacelles is a small village in the South of France, an hour's drive North of Nimes and an hour's West of Avignon and only 30 minutes from the famous medieval town of Uzes.
Our “mas” has been undergoing massive renovations after having been abandoned for 19 years. After three intensive 6 months summer periods, we have completed 90% of it, i.e: the kitchen and large living space downstairs and two large bedrooms upstairs-each with ensuite - and a separate small office/library space. We have begun landscaping work around the main building and envisage continuing that work as well as beginning to work on one of two small independent buildings, currently in a poor state, but which could become artists’residencies.
We are both visual artists with many years of renovation experience and are looking for help with both the landscaping work and the building renovation. So experience and skills in these areas are essential.
As we have had “woofing” experience ourselves as “woofers”, we know how important it is to be well looked after by your hosts and you will! In exchange, we would expect 5 hours of work a day with us (with two days off) and would provide you with a very comfortable bedroom with ensuite and all meals, “compulsory” 11am coffee break with “pain au chocolat” on working days and visits to local villages and the local swimming hole. Meals are not vegetarian and our home is strictly non-smoking. So if you’re a smoker, sorry but this is not for you!And if you are vegan, you will have to prepare your own meals from our own fridge which is always well stocked up with fruits and vegies.

We work hard but enjoy what we do and hope that our helpers will come with that spirit.
At home, we speak English and French and enjoy cooking so this is also an opportunity for you to improve or practise your skills at French cuisine if you are into food. However, cooking is not part of the tasks we expect from our helpers.
Note that you will need a car if you want your independence to explore widely, but otherwise, we are happy to show you the area when not working, and can pick you up from the train station at Ales in our 2CV. There are also many walking tracks around the “mas” if you like exploring nature on foot. We have music but no TV and get internet via our monthly prepaid mobile phone deals, tethering to laptops when necessary. Mobile phone data plans are extremely cheap in France!
We are looking for a single fit male to stay for 2 weeks (or possibly more) in summer 2020. At this stage the whole month of May is open.

If you’re interested and fit the bill, please let us know when you want to come and how we can meet you on Skype or Whatsapp to get an idea if we’ll like each other.

Back to Top helpx.net
Copyright © 2001 - 2019, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use