help exchange   Host 88945
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange helpx.net


south of Perth
All Year: Yes
Area (ha):
Persons: 1
Category: Other
Host ID: 88945
Region: Western Australia

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: May 18, 2019

Permaculture house in Perth metro with fish, ducks, chicken, bees, food forest and veg beds.

I live in the suburb of Coolbellup in a late 50's house on a 728sqm block. The whole block is being converted to a permaculture productive garden. It has food forests, ducks, chickens, numerous IBC wicking beds, aquaponic systems, ponds, grey water systems and soon to have bees. The conversion to a permie setup is ongoing and will never be complete as systems evolve. It currently demonstrates what is possible on in a relatively small urban space.

I have a 4 year old son that lives with me half of the time.

The house is situated 8km from Fremantle where there is great beaches, a live music scene, art galleries, and much more. There is a bus stop one street away that runs to Fremantle. Bibra lake is also close by.

Accommodation is in a back room overlooking the garden. There is an outdoor bath/shower for your use which waters the banana circle as well as an outdoor kitchen and your own fridge.Toilet is shared. Composting toilet on it's way. Wifi is included. All cleaning products used such as washing powder/liquid, shampoo, soap etc must be grey water friendly.

I'm looking for people who are happy to work inside or outside with minimal supervision for 2 hours labour per person for each night accommodation is provided. For example, 3 nights accommodation provided = 6 hours work in exchange for accommodation. Meals are not included.

Accommodation is open to non smoking, animal and children loving people that can speak english. I have an outdoor cat, ducks, fish, bees and chickens. Note that the house is not vegetarian (you may see me gutting fish etc), though I often eat veggie meals as I mostly follow an ayurvedic diet. You MUST clean up after yourself and provide your own personal items such as toiletries, telecommunication and your own meals. You do have your own fridge and access to kitchen.

I'll do my best to accommodate the skills and capabilities that you have. Tasks may include gardening, mulching, looking after animals, building, painting, cooking, washing and cleaning inside.

Note: I request that helpers normally arrive over a weekend so that we all have plenty of time to get to know each other and I can show you around and discuss work. Daily work check ins can either be in the morning at 7am or the evening between 6 and 8pm.

Back to Top helpx.net
Copyright 2001 - 2019, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use