help exchange   Host 88982
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange

County Leitrim
All Year: All year
Area (ha): 3.6
Persons: 2
Category: Non Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 88982
Country: Ireland

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: July 10, 2020

Hi folks.

Fed up of stressful city life? Love animals? Why not chill out / help out in Lovely Leitrim, the least populated county in Ireland.

Formerly a small farm, this is now a non-commercial equestrian establishment in rural North Leitrim, with 2 horses and 4 cats, stables, all weather paddock and sand riding arena. Around 7 acres of grazing. Lots of wildlife.

Help is needed with horse related work - I usually do the mucking out myself but need assistance with other things e.g. filling slow hay feeders, collecting droppings from fields/ the all weather paddock, levelling the arena (with a tractor) and land maintenance - treating and repairing fences, cutting grass, brambles, weeds, trimming trees.

If you do not already know how, learn to use a strimmer/brush cutter, scythe mower, hedge trimmer, mini dumper and my treasured elderly tractor.

Love of and experience with horses would be ideal but is not essential as training will be given and there is plenty of other work for non horsey types. I recently backed my 14hh rescue pony but she is not an easy ride, so I would love experienced riders to help. I have also rescued another horse who has yet to be trained.

Accommodation - sleep and breakfast in a 3-4 berth caravan in a very private spot behind the horses' paddock. There are 2 bunk beds and a table area that converts to a double. Shower and main meals provided in the house. The caravan has gas and electricity and a mains water tap just outside. Apart from the usual caravan toilet facilities, there is a flushing toilet and hot water just across the yard in the stable block.

Plenty of tasty vegetarian food will be provided. If you must have meat you will have to buy and cook it yourself! If you enjoy cooking, I do appreciate help in the kitchen.

Limited wifi (4G Vodafone) in the house. It is ok for communication but not film downloads, video chats or web phone calls. Local pubs do have free wifi. I have no TV, but do have hundreds of films on DVD and a home cinema in the house (using projector). If you prefer, you can play them on a computer in the caravan. Washing / drying clothes done as needed.

Hours are varied and flexible, probably averaging around 5 hours a day but very weather dependent for most things. Some days there will be little work, others may need more - e.g. topping grass while the ground is dry enough. Days off are no problem but sightseeing will be much easier if you have your own transport. Buses are infrequent.

Would suit people wanting to work with horses or just experience rural life in the beautiful Irish countryside.

I can drive people short distances for sightseeing etc. You can also use my electric bike for exploring the countryside and to accompany me when I ride my pony. Once my other horse is backed, riders may be able to hack out with me.

I am only 15 miles from Sligo with its lovely scenery and beaches. I can collect and drop you off at Knock airport or local train stations.

NB The first mucking out session starts at 8.30 am, so if you can't get up in the morning this may not be for you.

PS - Yes, the cat is actually sitting on my pony's back. It's not an optical illusion. She is more patient with the cat than with me.

Back to Top
Copyright 2001 - 2020, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use