help exchange   Host 89026
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange helpx.net


Highlands
All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 4 acres
Persons: 1 or a couple
Category: Other
Host ID: 89026
Region: Victoria

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: November 25, 2018

We are young-at-heart retirees from the viticulture world. We love good food, wine, music and conversation. We now have a small (4 acre), rural property in the foothills of the Strathbogies [15 minutes to Yea and 25 minutes to Seymour].
We are primarily looking for experienced help with a couple of building projects and gardening. We need help to complete a masonry retaining wall, external stairs or ramp, garden and vineyard maintenance and landscaping.
We are interested in Permaculture and have planted a small vineyard and orchard, and we are just about to set up our wicking garden beds for veggies. You might like to help us do that :-).
As owner-builders, we have reached the stage where we can offer decent accommodation and food in return for 4 hours of work a day. We have just finished the downstairs, self-contained guest accommodation (see photos) so you should be quite comfortable. Help yourself breakfast and lunch, shared evening meal; we provide all the food. One rule - whoever cooks doesn't do the dishes :-)
We prefer non-smokers and definitely no smoking inside. Mobile phone reception is sometimes patchy, but okay outside. We can't cater for special diets (unless you cook it yourself), and can't take pets as we have two dogs - our two gorgeous girls - a border collie (Bella) and Kelpie (Cocoa ... or "that red dog" as Bella refers to her!). Vitto is originally from Argentina and is a great cook ... his speciality is asado. He is also an artisan furniture-maker.
There is mobile reception on the property and we are connected to satellite internet. It will be okay for email and web, but limited streaming.
Ideally, we would like a minimum stay of two weeks.
We would love to introduce you to the Goulburn Valley region. There is plenty to see and do in the area - wineries, music events, art galleries, bush walking, the Goulburn River fishing and canoeing, good restaurants, so if you'd like a stay in a little-known gem in the country, we'd love to host you.
We are 15 minutes from Yea, and happy to drop off and pick up from the Seymour train station (25 minutes away). It's one and a half hours to Melbourne by train. Having a car would give you more independence.

Back to Top helpx.net
Copyright 2001 - 2019, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use