help exchange   Host 89029
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange helpx.net


Ventnor
All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 10
Persons: 2
Category: Accommodation Business
Host ID: 89029
Region: Victoria

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: June 9, 2019

Looking for HelpX (Couples only) to start anytime in June for at least two weeks.

We are a small family run eco-retreat/glamping business on Phillip Island in Victoria. We are looking for a sustainably minded couple preferably to help with things such as helping to establish our vegetable garden, maintenance around the site, tent changeovers/cleaning, upkeep of toilets, picking up/sorting rubbish, washing cars and mowing. We may also ask you to help out with small jobs around our house and property such as cleaning/tidying, mowing, dishes and other odd jobs.

Landscape/gardening/woodworking skills are a bonus but not essential.

The glamping site is next to a creek and has 6 tents set on 10acres and are run on solar power.

A car will be provided for work and personal use. Accommodation will be on our property(one acre about 5 mins drive from site) in a privately situated bell tent set up with electricity, bed and bedding, kettle and access to your own composting toilet and heated outdoor shower. Access to indoor facilities can be arranged if needed.

You must have a reasonable understanding of English (and we are more than happy to help out with furthering your language skills:) and it is preferable that helpers stay for a minimum of 2 weeks and can stay longer if suitable. We are quite flexible with 'helping' hours. Please note weekends are our busiest times so time off will be during the week.

At this time we are not asking for many hours work per day so are not providing all food. We will provide facilities for you to cook with, and are happy to share some meals and perhaps offer an allowance but at this point we are just not organised enough to provide all meals. Happy to negotiate and make sure everyone is satisfied with the arrangement:)

Phillip Island is a beautiful tourism destination located 2hrs out of Melbourne. It is home to Australia's second biggest tourism attraction, the Penguin Parade (just 10mins down the road). This would suit someone who surfs or wants to experience living by the ocean. We are a 10 minute drive to the local shops/supermarkets/petrol stations, the closest beach is just minutes away and we have an amazing winery just up the road.

Randall is 37 and NZ by passport but grew up in NZ, Malaysia and Europe (Germany, Austria). Prior to starting our business he has worked in IT, the music industry, farming, snowboard coaching the paralymipc team, and as a climbing arborist. When he isn't working he is usually surfing.

Kat is 35 and grew up down the Great Ocean Road in Australia. She has worked in hospitality, conservation, disability care, the ski/snowboard industry, as a vet nurse and currently works as a ranger at the Penguin Parade.

We have both travelled a lot but have been settled on Phillip Island for nearly 8years. We would love to share what this beautiful island has to offer:)

reviews (3)
Helper: Alex and Anna Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: United Kingdom Date: March 31, 2019
Fantastic place & fantastic people! We absolutely loved our helpx time here w... view complete review

Helper: Rosanne and Rick Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: Netherlands Date: March 4, 2019
The stay with Randall and Kat and the lovely twins was a blast! It was so won... view complete review

Helper: Arnaud and Stephanie Profile: hidden - premier members only
From: France Date: January 29, 2019
We spent 1 week with Randall And Kat! It was awesome. We lived in a big ten... view complete review

Back to Top helpx.net
Copyright 2001 - 2019, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use