help exchange   Host 89052
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange helpx.net


BERKELEY
All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 650 feet
Persons: 1 o2 2
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 89052
Region: West

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: December 22, 2019

i am a generally very healthy 50 year old academic and will most likely be receiving a heart transplant this summer. One requirement for approval is that I have a "caretaker team" that is able to be with me for one month post surgery, staying in a hotel or airbnb that kaiser pays for. I have 50% of this team in place (my daughter). I am seeking the other 50%, so that would be a two week commitment at the airbnb in Santa Clara by kaiser. I would pay you a modest daily rate (100), and I would also cover meals and outings during that period. In addition to that, I would offer free room and board at my apartment in berkeley throughout the whole summer. Only two weeks, approx, would be at the airbnb staying with me. The rest of the summer you would have the apartment largely to yourself as I will be going through the surgery and one month adjacent stay in santa clara for 6-8 weeks. The two (or so) weeks I would need you in santa clara would be paid 100 per day, as well as all expenses. The rest of the summer would offer housing in my apartment, largely if not entirely private/solo time.

While this is a fairly intense surgely, the two week care taking is really quite light in terms of work duties. I will have a 'sternal restriction' for a while and will not be able to lift things over 5 lbs and cannot drive, so I would need that help. But I would be completely able to care for myself in almost all respects. I would need to be driven to the hospital maybe twice or three times per week for standard visits, and would need help getting groceries, and making sure I am 100% on top of my meds. That is really it. It would require that you be there 24 hours per day, for however many days you take, but most of that would be chilling at the airbnb doing what you want to. The requirement is literally just that someone always be there for that month. My daughter has 50%, I am looking for the second half. While some experience in care taking would be preferred, it is not strictly necessary as long as you are reliable and confident that you are amenable to this kind of work. I am open to age, race, gender and all the rest. Reliability is what is key for the doctors to agree that I have a good caretaker team in place. They would want to meet you and give you an overview of what to do.

The exact timing is somewhat TBD, but some point over the summer is likely. You would be offered housing in berkeley throughout the summer, with the two week commitment in santa clara.

Back to Top helpx.net
Copyright 2001 - 2020, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use