help exchange   Host 89131
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange helpx.net


Shrewsbury
All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 0.5
Persons: 2
Category: Homestay
Host ID: 89131
Country: England

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: March 10, 2020

Are you free to help us in May?

For the past four years since we retired we have been developing an existing garden and creating a new productive garden in what was a pony paddock in our lovely Shropshire setting just South of Shrewsbury. We are now more or less self sufficient in fruit and vegetables, at least during the summer months, and we keep a few chickens for eggs.

The more we develop the garden the more maintenance there is and at the same time we have quite a lot of family commitments, some close to home others further afield. May is one of our busiest months in the garden, but this year we have to be away for three short periods during the month the longest being a week. So we would REALLY love it if there was someone perhaps a couple? out there who would be happy to look after our home and garden and look after the chickens while we are away in exchange for somewhere to stay. During the times we are home obviously you could join us in working in the garden too or take the time to visit wonderful Shropshire, or use the time to visit elsewhere if you wanted. Ideally you would be able to arrive by May 5th. our dates away are 8 10, 15 22 and 29 31. We would have to ask you to leave in early June as we have promised our spare rooms to guests from Australia not certain of exact dates yet.

We are youngish retirees (both in our 60s) from careers in health and social care, and arts and heritage, and we moved to Shropshire in 2015. We have two spare bedrooms, one double, and one that can be a twin or double room. The house was originally a small agricultural cottage that has grown over its 150 years of life, but most rooms are quite small, so you would be sharing our quite small space when we were home. We are 6 miles south of Shrewsbury, and it's a similar distance to the glorious Shropshire Hills. Shropshire is a well kept secret, lots to see and do from very early industrial heritage at Ironbridge, to wonderful walking. There is a regular bus service through the village, and trains from stations quite close, accessible by bus. We have grand children (4 and 6 years) nearby who often visit. We are both involved in a certain amount of local voluntary activity locally and sing in local choirs.

Back to Top helpx.net
Copyright 2001 - 2020, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use