help exchange   Host 89172
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange helpx.net


Cloverdale
All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 1.214
Persons: 1 or 2
Category: Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 89172
Region: West

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: November 17, 2018

This is a small country property tucked up into the mountains over Cloverdale California, running alongside a windy 2 lane highway which goes to the Mendocino coast.

The property is owned by my father, a retired art professor and sculptor, so it is a bit of a roadside attraction already, with (literally) tons of huge sculpture and art and building materials (which might look like junk but he calls his "Piles of Potential".

My partner Hannes (a jazz musical, originally from Austria) and myself (a vegetarian chef and internet marketer) recently moved onto the property from NYC, and started planting things! So we are at the beginning stages of developing a small, permaculture design inspired homestead, with a small orchard, organic garden, pond, (so far) 11 pet heritage breed chickens.

Next year's plans include developing a food forest, installing an ozone filtered hot tub, an outdoor shower-bamboo patch, and a lot of very fun art restoration projects.

My vision is for this to be a little roadside art park, where people can stop to picnic by the pond, buy home-baked sourdough bread and other seasonal bakery items (I used to be a pastry chef) plus fresh eggs and whatever garden or orchard produce is in abundance.

You would be sleeping in a 120 year old schoolhouse which my dad has converted into an art studio and gallery. There is a wood burning stove and communal kitchen and it's a magical place to hang out.

We are looking for people who have an appreciation for art and nature. The pace is relaxed, with plenty of time for good food and just hanging out, enjoying the chickens and garden. Carpentry, gardening, plumbing, electrical or artistic backgrounds are always a plus!

Back to Top helpx.net
Copyright 2001 - 2020, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use