help exchange   Host 89259
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange helpx.net


Carterton
All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 10
Persons: 1
Category: Organic Farmstay
Host ID: 89259
Region: Lower North Island

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: July 13, 2019

Hi there travelers,
My wife and I are developing a self sustainable small farm on 25 acres.
We farm sheep for meat, wool and milk. Goats for milk to make yoghurt and cheese. Chickens for eggs. We also grow and make our own hay for our animals and the equine market and to pay for expenses.
We are currently developing three permaculture kitchen gardens and a food forest to provide us with vegetables, fruit, berries and nuts all year round. We are also slowly planting out the edges of our natural ponds and wet lands to improve the water and encourage the native wet land birds to stay and breed. Our farm has unimpeded expansive views over farm land and onto the Tararua ranges (Mountains)
Im a passionate cyclist (road and Mountain)and my wife rides horses (we have three)

Carterton township is a short walk from our farm. The township is equipped with cafes, restaurants, supermarket, library, swimming baths and lots of awesome charity shops.
We also have a great mountain bike park just up the road if you're keen! A little further up the road is the (I'm told) the longest swing bridge in the southern hemisphere and lots of walking and hiking tracks surrounded by native bush.

The city of Masterton is a 20 minutes drive.

You will be living in our home in your own spacious private bedroom with adjacent toilet.

We are looking for a fit able bodied person 25yrs onwards who would like to be immersed in the country life. Who is keen to learn new skills and share existing skills with us. You should enjoy DIY and being resourceful, animals, gardening and the land.
You should be easy to get on with and enjoy a laugh.
Non smoker a must.
We would like you to stay for a week as a minimum.

Back to Top helpx.net
Copyright 2001 - 2020, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use