help exchange   Host 89365
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Australia   New Zealand   Europe   Canada   USA   International   log-in
Help Exchange helpx.net


Benson
All Year: Yes
Area (ha): 2.5
Persons: 1-3
Category: Other
Host ID: 89365
Region: Southwest

Note: Please login or register if you wish to see all full size photos and part reviews. You will also require to upgrade to premier membership in order to view contact details, weblinks and complete reviews.

Last Updated: April 3, 2020

Hello! We have a lovely fixer-upper property in Benson (Southeastern Arizona) one mile north of the Amtrak train depot and Interstate 10 and 30 minutes from the Tucson International Airport. We are within half an hour drive to Kartchner Caverns, Patagonia Lake, Parker Canyon Lake, Colossal Caves, Bisbee and Tombstone. Tucson is a 40 minute trip to town. The Greyhound bus stops here, but we just found out that an Uber or Lyft may be cheaper than bus tickets for more than one person.

PLEASE NOTE: We need at least 5 weeks notice before your arrival.

Our property has incredible potential, and the vision is to create a quirky/artsy Airbnb pet-friendly compound as well as a retreat for artists, writers, musicians, yogis and world travelers. The property has a large pond with cottonwood and mesquite trees and a natural spring (that needs some love) and a heated salt water swimming pool and spa (that has an attached cantina).

There are many projects needing to be done, and we hope to attract helpers with construction-specific skills as we need to build two new bathrooms for spring 2020 with composting toilets. We also have lots of weeding/landscaping (a forever chore) and fixing the pond (it won't hold water) as well as building a cabin/dormitory and renovating an old barn into a retreat space. We also need help with rock work/masonry....My partner Eric and I are pretty handy. We are currently in the process of lovingly renovating the main home, which is constructed of burnt clay adobe.

Other projects: housecleaning, help with Airbnb.

As to me, my name is Kareva and I am well-traveled and love to meet people from all over. I moved to the USA from Tahiti, French Polynesia and have ties to France,the UK, New Zealand, Australia and Spain.

In exchange for your help (Average of 4 hours/4-5 days per week), we will provide dinner and accomodations. As far as breakfast and lunch, it would be wonderful if you could either contribute breakfast food and lunch items (such as eggs, cereal, fruit, yoghurt and organic/healthy bread)to what we already provide or you are welcome to just provide your own. Should you wish to have special snacks, etc., we have bicycles at your disposal and the supermarket is one mile away.

We offer comfortable accommodations, hi-speed WIFI, a fridge, laundry facilities, friendship and comfort. We also have plenty of lovely camping spots if you prefer, or place to park a camper. Let us know your specialty (building, plumbing, electricity, masonry, renovations, etc) - or if you can help in any way with upkeep of the land and house. If you have the desire to learn basic renovation skills, we can definitely help :)...

We have seven dogs/fur kids (Koru, Kaja, Quila, Kassie, Roxie, Kloud and Toa) and plan on having livestock in the near future (horses, most likely)...and this will happen sooner than later if a four-legged being crosses our path that needs a home. We do not have cats.

We are progressive and kind. We would love to meet you and have you take part in our vision to turn this property into a beautiful sanctuary. We are looking forward to hearing from you!

Back to Top helpx.net
Copyright 2001 - 2020, HelpX, All Rights Reserved :: disclaimer :: terms of use